NFL Standout Von Miller Named Walter Camp Alumni Award Recipient

NFL All-Pro outside linebacker Von Miller (Texas A&M/Denver Broncos) is the recipient of the 2019 Walter Camp “Alumni Award.” 

         Miller joins a distinguished list of former “Alumni Award” winners, including Alan Page (Notre Dame), Bo Jackson (Auburn), Tony Dorsett (Pittsburgh), Herschel Walker (Georgia), Mark May (Pittsburgh), Tim Brown (Notre Dame), Doug Williams (Grambling State) and last year’s recipient Larry Fitzgerald (Pittsburgh).

         The Walter Camp “Alumni of the Year” award is bestowed on a worthy individual who has distinguished himself in the pursuit of excellence as an athlete, in his personal career and in doing good work for others.  He must be an individual who has exhibited dedication and good moral conduct in achieving success. He must be a compassionate and unselfish person who contributes his time and assistance in helping to encourage and comfort fellow human beings less talented and less fortunate than himself.  He must be an individual who takes pride in having been a Walter Camp All-American.

         A three-year starter for Texas A&M, Miller posted 10.5 sacks and 17.5 tackles for loss to earn Walter Camp All-America honors during his senior season in 2010.  Miller also won the Butkus Award as the nation’s top linebacker in 2010. Miller was then selected by the Broncos with the second overall pick of the 2011 NFL Draft.

         He played in 15 games during his rookie campaign and was impressive, registering 64 tackles, 11.5 sacks and three forced fumbles, making the Pro Bowl.  The following year, Miller was even better, racking up 68 tackles, 18.5 sacks, earning another Pro Bowl selection while notching First-Team All-Pro honors in the process.   He also earned a pair of First-Team All-Pro selections in 2015 and 2016.  Miller led the Broncos to the Super Bowl 50 title and earned the game’s Most Valuable Player honors in the 24-10 win over the Carolina Panthers.

         In 2015, he became the third-fastest NFL player in NFL history to reach 50 career sacks, needing just 58 games. Miller currently holds multiple Denver Broncos career defensive records including sacks, forced fumbles, tackles for loss and quarterback hits.

         This season, Miller registered 46 tackles and eight sacks this season for the Broncos and earned his sixth straight Pro Bowl selection.

         Off the field, Miller, who graduated from Texas A&M with a degree in poultry sciences, currently operates a chicken farm in his native Texas, and is active in helping others.  In 2012, Miller created Von’s Vision to provide Denver-area youth with eye examinations and eyewear. Von’s Vision hosts Von’s Vision Days throughout the year to provide children with free eye exams and glasses.  Earlier this year, Miller was the recipient of the Jefferson Award for Outstanding Public Service in Sports.                                                                                                                  

         Miller, along with the 130th annual Walter Camp All-America team and Player of the Year Joe Burrow (LSU), and other award winners (Chris Berman-Distinguished American; Curtis Martin-Man of the Year; Ed Orgeron-Coach of Year), will be honored at the organization’s 52nd national awards banquet on Saturday, January 18, 2020, at the Yale University Lanman Center in New Haven.   For more information, visit

         Walter Camp, “The Father of American Football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

Walter Camp Alumni Award Recipients

2019 – Von Miller, Texas A&M

2018 – Larry Fitzgerald, University of Pittsburgh

2017 – Eddie George, The Ohio State University

2016 – Orlando Pace, The Ohio State University

2015 – Doug Williams, Grambling State

2014 – Chad Hennings, U.S. Air Force Academy

2013 – Ken Huff, North Carolina

2012 – Derrick Brooks, Florida State

2011 – Chris Spielman, Ohio State

2010 – Tedy Bruschi, Arizona

2009 – David Fulcher, Arizona State

2008 – Tim Brown, Notre Dame

2007 – Ray Guy, Southern Mississippi

2006 – Mike Rozier, Nebraska

2005 – Cornelius Bennett, Alabama

2004 – George Rogers, South Carolina

2003 – Mark May, Pittsburgh

2002 – Dave Casper, Notre Dame

2001 – Herschel Walker, Georgia

2000 – Don McPherson, Syracuse

1999 – Bo Jackson, Auburn

1998 – Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh

1997 – Jim Plunkett, Stanford

1996 – Lee Roy Selmon, Oklahoma

1995 – Jim Covert, Pittsburgh

1994 – Ed Marinaro, Cornell

1993 – Archie Griffin, The Ohio State University

1992 – Kellen Winslow, Missouri

1991 – Steve Owens, Oklahoma

1990 – Thomas L. Jackson, Louisville

1989 – Dr. Tom Casanova, Louisiana State

1988 – Alan Page, Notre Dame

1987 – Mike Reid, Penn State

1986 – Joe Greene, North Texas” ck sack during his final two collegiate his professional career and was the cornerst