Walter Camp 2021 Preseason All-America Teams Announced

The Walter Camp Football Foundation, an all-volunteer organization and caretaker of the nation’s oldest college football All-America team, has announced its 2021 Preseason All-American teams.           

Eight players who earned Walter Camp All-American recognition in 2019 and/or 2020 are on the 2021 preseason list.   Leading the First Team preseason offensive unit is junior running back Breece Hall (Iowa State), who returns to the Cyclones after rushing for 1,572 yards and 21 touchdowns in 2020.   On defense, Northwestern redshirt sophomore strong safety Brandon Joseph (49 tackles) is a First Team preseason All-American after earning First Team honors a year ago.      

Offensive lineman Cain Madden, who earned Second Team honors a year ago for Marshall, has transferred to Notre Dame and will play for the Fighting Irish this fall.  Notre Dame teammate Kyle Hamilton (63 tackles in 2020)is a First Team preseason All-American this year after earning Second Team honors a year ago.  

Punter Jake Camarda (Goergia), a second team All-America selection a year ago, is on the 2021 preseason list along with LSU junior Derek Stingley, Jr., who was a First Team All-American in 2019.  Iowa State tight end Charlie Kolar and Iowa offensive lineman Tyler Linderbaum were both Walter Camp Second Team All-Americans a year ago.

In all, 29 different schools from eight conferences are represented on the Preseason All-America First and Second Teams (a total of 50 players selected).  

2021 Walter Camp Preseason All-America Teams

First Team Offense

WR: Chris Olave (Ohio State), Justyn Ross (Clemson)

TE: Charlie Kolar (Iowa State)

OL:  Darian Kinnard (Kentucky), Kenyon Green (Texas A&M), Evan Neal (Alabama), Thayer Munford (Ohio State)

C:  Tyler Linderbaum (Iowa)

QB:  Sam Howell (North Carolina)

RB:  Breece Hall (Iowa State), Mohamed Ibrahim (Minnesota)

PK:   Cade York (LSU)

First Team Defense

DL:  Kayvon Thibodeaux (Oregon), Bryan Bresee (Clemson), DeMarvin Leal (Texas A&M), Haskell Garrett (Ohio State)

LB:  Will Anderson, Jr. (Alabama), Mike Rose (Iowa State), Nick Bonitto (Oklahoma)

DB:  Derek Stingley, Jr (LSU), Kyle Hamilton (Notre Dame), Ahmad Gardner (Cincinnati), Brandon Joseph (Northwestern)

P:  Lou Hedley (Miami)

KR: Marcus Jones (Houston)

Second Team Offense

WR:  Marvin Mims (Oklahoma), George Pickens (Georgia)

TE:  Jalen Wydermyer (Texas A&M)

OL:  Jamaree Salyer (Georgia), Jordan McFadden (Clemson), Cain Madden (Notre Dame), Jaxson Kirkland (Washington)

C:  Colin Newell (Iowa State)

QB: Spencer Rattler (Oklahoma)

RB:  Sincere McCormick (UTSA), Bijan Robinson (Texas)

PK:  Anders Carlson (Auburn)

Second Team Defense

DL: Myles Murphy (Clemson), Jordan Davis (Georgia), Myjai Sanders (Cincinnati), Calijah Kancey (Pittsburgh)

LB:  Edefuan Ulofoshio (Washington), Devin Lloyd (Utah), Micah McFadden (Indiana)

DB:  Eli Ricks (LSU), Josh Jobe (Alabama), Tre’vius Hodges-Tomlinson (TCU), Kaiir Elam (Florida)

P:  Jake Camarda (Georgia)

KR:  Aron Cruickshank (Rutgers)

Who is Walter Camp?

Walter Camp, considered the “Father of American Football,” first named an All-American team in 1889. The 2021 season will be the 132nd edition of the team. 

In late November, the 2021 All-America teams will be selected by the head coaches and sports information directors of the 130 Football Bowl Subdivision schools and will be certified by Marcum’s New Haven-based accounting firm.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.  The Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients.