Florida State Defensive End Bjoern Werner Named Connecticut Player of the Year

Former Salisbury School standout Bjoern Werner, a junior defensive end from Florida State University, is also a member of the Walter Camp All-America First Team. He is the third player to earn both honors.

Read more

Daniel Hand High School to Receive Joseph. W. Kelly Award

Daniel Hand High School of Madison, the consensus No. 1 team in the state high school football season-ending polls, is the Walter Camp Football Foundation’s choice to receive the Joseph W. Kelly Award, which is awarded annually to Connecticut’s top high school football team.

For Immediate Release: December 12, 2012

Read more

Former NFL All-Pro Derrick Brooks receives 2012 Walter Camp “Alumni Award.”

Brooks joins a distinguished list of former “Alumni Award” winners, including Alan Page (Notre Dame), Bo Jackson (Auburn), Tony Dorsett (Pittsburgh), Herschel Walker (Georgia), Mark May (Pittsburgh) and last year’s recipient, Chris Spielman (Ohio State).

For Immediate Release: December 11, 2012

Read more

Manti Te’o Selected 2012 Walter Camp Player of the Year


Te’o is the third defensive player to garner prestigious honor.

New Haven, CT – University of Notre Dame senior inside linebacker Manti Te’o (Laie, HI) has been selected as the 2012 Walter Camp Player of the Year. Walter Camp Football Foundation President John Marks made the presentation tonight during ESPN’s 6 p.m. edition of SportsCenter.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year is voted on by the nation’s 124 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors. Other finalists for the Walter Camp 2012 Player of the Year award included Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein, USC wide receiver Marqise Lee and Oregon running back Kenjon Barner.

The 46th recipient of the Walter Camp Player of the Year award, Te’o is the third defensive player to earn the honor. Former Pittsburgh defensive end Hugh Green (1980) and Michigan defensive back Charles Woodson (1997) each won the award. Te’o is also the fourth Notre Dame player – tight end Ken MacAfee (1977), wide receiver Tim Brown (1987) and wide receiver Raghib Ismail (1990) – to be selected Player of the Year.

“Manti Te’o’s performance on and off the football field has made him an outstanding recipient of the Walter Camp Player of the Year award,” Marks said. “His consistency, leadership, and perseverance have been trademarks of the Fighting Irish’s outstanding 2012 season.”

The 6-foot 2, 255-pound Te’o is a Walter Camp First Team All-America selection after leading the Fighting Irish defensive unit that ranks first in the nation in scoring defense (10.3 points allowed per game) and sixth in total defense (286.8 yards allowed per game).

Through 12 games this season, Te’o has totaled a team-best 103 tackles (8.6 tackles per game) and is tied for third in the nation with seven interceptions. Te’o has played a role in 11 of Notre Dame’s 23 turnovers this year (7 interceptions, 2 fumble recoveries and 2 pass hurries that directly led to interceptions).

Top-ranked Notre Dame (12-0) will play second-ranked Alabama (12-1) in the BCS National Championship Game on January 7.

Te’o has appeared in 50 career games and amassed 427 tackles (209 solo). He is thesecond Notre Dame player – joining two-time Walter Camp All-American linebacker Bob Crable – to register at least 100 tackles in three consecutive seasons. A graphic design major, Te’o has a 3.32 cumulative grade point average and is scheduled to graduate this month.

Te’o, along with members of the Walter Camp 2012 All-America team, will be honored at the organization’s national awards banquet on Saturday, January 12, 2013 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

2012 Walter Camp All-America Notebook

This is the 123rd edition of the Walter Camp All-America team – the nation’s oldest All-America team.

For Immediate Release: December 06, 2012

Read more

2012 Walter Camp All-America Team

Johnny Manziel

2012 Walter Camp All American

Player of the Year Manti Te’o headlines 123rd All-America Team

For Immediate Release: December 6, 2012 Read more