The Walter Camp “Alumni Award”

The Walter Camp “Alumni of the Year” award is bestowed on a worthy individual who has distinguished himself in the pursuit of excellence as an athlete, in his personal career and in doing good works for others.  He must be an individual who has exhibited dedication and good moral conduct in achieving success. He must be a compassionate and unselfish person who contributes his time and assistance in helping to encourage and comfort fellow human beings less talented and less fortunate than himself.  He must be an individual who takes pride in having been a Walter Camp All-American.

Ty Law – 2022 Alumni Award

A native of Aliquippa, Pa., Ty Law attended the University of Michigan and was three-year standout for the Wolverines.  He earned Walter Camp All-America honors in 1994 and was a two-time unanimous All-Big Ten selection.

Selected by the New England Patriots in the first round (23rd overall) of the 1995 NFL Draft, Law proceeded to play 10 seasons and won three Super Bowl championships (XXXVI, XXXVIII and XXXIX).
A two-time First Team All-Pro, Law was a five-time Pro Bowl
selection.   Twice, he led the NFL in interceptions and was named to the NFL 2000’s All-Decade Team.

Law also played for the New York Jets (2005, 2008), Kansas City Chiefs (2006-2007) and Denver Broncos (2009).  He finished his career with 53 interceptions.

In 2019, Law was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Walter Camp Alumni Award Recipients

2021 – Desmond Howard, Michigan / Danny Wuerffel, University of Florida

2019 – Von Miller, Texas A&M

2018 – Larry Fitzgerald, University of Pittsburgh

2017 – Eddie George, The Ohio State University

2016 – Orlando Pace, The Ohio State University

2015 – Doug Williams, Grambling State

2014 – Chad Hennings, U.S. Air Force Academy

2013 – Ken Huff, North Carolina

2012 – Derrick Brooks, Florida State

2011 – Chris Spielman, Ohio State

2010 – Tedy Bruschi, Arizona

2009 – David Fulcher, Arizona State

2008 – Tim Brown, Notre Dame

2007 – Ray Guy, Southern Mississippi

2006 – Mike Rozier, Nebraska

2005 – Cornelius Bennett, Alabama

2004 – George Rogers, South Carolina

2003 – Mark May, Pittsburgh

2002 – Dave Casper, Notre Dame

2001 – Herschel Walker, Georgia

2000 – Don McPherson, Syracuse

1999 – Bo Jackson, Auburn

1998 – Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh

1997 – Jim Plunkett, Stanford

1996 – Lee Roy Selmon, Oklahoma

1995 – Jim Covert, Pittsburgh

1994 – Ed Marinaro, Cornell

1993 – Archie Griffin, The Ohio State University

1992 – Kellen Winslow, Missouri

1991 – Steve Owens, Oklahoma

1990 – Thomas L. Jackson, Louisville

1989 – Dr. Tom Casanova, Louisiana State

1988 – Alan Page, Notre Dame

1987 – Mike Reid, Penn State

1986 – Joe Greene, North Texas