52nd Walter Camp Weekend a Success!

Thank you to all who attended, supported, sponsored and participated in Walter Camp’s 52nd annual Awards Weekend in New Haven, CT, which culminated with the National Awards Dinner, presented by David McDermott Lexus of New Haven, on Saturday evening, Jan. 12 at Yale’s Lanman Center.

Read more

Clemson Equipment Manager David Saville Named Walter Camp “American Hero”

Despite being born with Down syndrome, David Saville is an integral part of Clemson’s national-championship football program, serving as an equipment manager. He is a graduate of He ClemsonLIFE post-secondary program.

Saville is the recipient of the Walter Camp American Hero Award.  Saville is the fifth recipient of the award, joining Noah Aldrich (2017), Sandra Adams (2016), Frank Hall (2015) and former Clemson wide receiver Daniel Rodriquez (2014).

David graduated from Norcross (S.C.) High School in 2008. Among his many other school activities such as Drama Club, being named Homecoming King in 2008 and participating in Special Olympics basketball, track and bowling during his high school years, he also served as Varsity football manager for five years, a job that he truly loved. He was named “Football Manager of the Year” twice.

Having been a Boy Scout since he was 11, David became an Eagle Scout in 2007 at age 17 after working long and hard to complete all of the requirements. In 2008, he was a recipient of the Atlanta Alliance on Developmental Disabilities Outstanding Achievement Award. David was also featured in a TV episode of “Aarons Outdoors” where he went wild boar hunting in south Georgia and harvested a 350-lb. hog with a Marlin lever-action .450.

Walter Camp All-Connecticut Teams Announced; 12th Annual Breakfast of Champions is January 12

As part of its 52nd annual Weekend festivities, the Walter Camp Football Foundation will host its 12th High School “Breakfast of Champions,” presented by Town Fair Tire and NFP Sports, on Saturday, January 12 at The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale. The event starts at 8:30 a.m. The four Connecticut high school 2018 state champions – Greenwich (Class LL), Daniel Hand of Madison (Class L), St. Joseph of Trumbull (Class M) and Bloomfield (Class S) – will be recognized.  In addition, members of the 2018 Walter Camp All-Connecticut Teams (1st and 2nd) will be recognized.

Read more

2018 Walter Camp Football Championship Subdivision All-America Team

Quarterback Devlin Hodges (Samford) headlines the 2018 Walter Camp Football Championship Subdivision All-America team. Hodges passed for 4,283 yards and 32 touchdowns for the Bulldogs this fall.  The team was selected by the head coaches and sports information directors of the Football Championship Subdivision schools and certified by the accounting and auditing firm, Marcum LLP.

Read more

NFL Standout Larry Fitzgerald Named Walter Camp Alumni Award Recipient







2003 Walter Camp Player of the Year and NFL All-Pro wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald (University of Pittsburgh/Arizona Cardinals) is the recipient of the 2018 Walter Camp “Alumni Award.”  Fitzgerald joins a distinguished list of former “Alumni Award” winners, including Alan Page (Notre Dame), Bo Jackson (Auburn), Tony Dorsett (Pittsburgh), Herschel Walker (Georgia), Mark May (Pittsburgh), Tim Brown (Notre Dame), Doug Williams (Grambling State) and last year’s recipient Eddie George (The Ohio State University).

Read more

Walter Camp Football Foundation Announces Five Finalists for 2018 Player of the Year Award

New Haven, Conn. – Four quarterbacks and one linebacker comprise the list of five finalists for the Walter Camp Football Foundation 2018 Player of the Year award.  Quarterbacks Will Grier (West Virginia, senior), Kyler Murray (Oklahoma, junior), Gardner Minshew (Washington State, senior) and Tua Tagovailoa (Alabama, sophomore), join senior linebacker Josh Allen (Kentucky) as the five finalists.

Read more