Tulane’s Christian Montano Named Walter Camp Connecticut Player of the Year

Tulane University graduate student Christian Montano (Orange, CT) has been selected as Walter Camp’s 2019 Connecticut Player of the Year. 

The award is presented to the top college football player who is a resident and/or played scholastically in the state of Connecticut. The award is voted on by the Walter Camp Football Foundation membership.

Montano is the first player from Tulane to receive this honor.  Montano started all 12 games at offensive center for Green Wave (6-6), who earned a berth in the Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl on Jan. 4 versus University of Southern Mississippi. 

Montano has been a catalyst in the Green Wave’s offensive attack that averages more than 33 points and 455 yards of total offense a game.   Tulane’s rushing attack has totaled 2,775 yards in 2019 – the fourth highest total in school history.

Montano graduated in 2018 from Brown University (B.A. economics), where he was a three-year starter and Second Team All-Ivy honoree at center for the Bears. He is a two-time semifinalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy and received an award for independent science research about the effects of fertilizer runoff on local aquatic habitats. Montano donated bone marrow to save a man’s life and has since met and formed a strong relationship with.

In 2019, Montano was a semifinalist the Jason Witten College Man of the Year award, which is presented the Division I college football player who has demonstrated a record of leadership by exhibiting exceptional courage, integrity and sportsmanship both on and off the field.

A native of Orange, Montano played scholastically for head coach Joe Linta at Hamden Hall Country Day School. 

Montano, along with the members of the 2019 Walter Camp All-America team and Player of the Year Joe Burrow (LSU) and Coach of the Year Ed Orgeron (LSU), along with other major award winners (Man of the Year-Curtis Martin and Distinguished American-Chris Berman), will be honored at the organization’s national awards banquet, presented by David McDermott Lexus of New Haven, on Saturday, January 18, 2020 at the Yale University’s Lanman Center.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.  Visit www.waltercamp.org for more information.

Connecticut Player of the Year

Presented to the top college football player who is a resident and/or played scholastically in the state of Connecticut. The award is voted on by the Walter Camp Football Foundation membership.

2019 – Christian Montano, C, Tulane

2018 – Zach Allen, DE, Boston College

2017 – Ervin Philips, WR, Syracuse

2016 – Noel Thomas, WR, Connecticut

2015 – Tyler Matakevich, LB, Temple

2014 – Tyler Murphy, QB, Boston College

2013 – Kevin Pierre-Louis, LB, Boston College

2012 – Bjoern Werner, DE, Florida State

2011 – Silas Redd, RB, Penn State

2010 – John Moffitt, OL, Wisconsin

2009 – Aaron Hernandez, TE, Florida

2008 – Kory Sheets, RB, Purdue

2007 – Mike McLeod, RB, Yale

2006 – Kory Sheets, RB, Purdue

2005 – John Sullivan, C, Notre Dame

2004 – Anttaj Hawthorne, DT, Wisconsin; Dan Orlovsky, QB, Connecticut

2003 – Dan Orlovsky, QB, Connecticut

2002 – Niko Koutouvides, LB, Purdue

2001 – Dwight Freeney, DE, Syracuse

2000 – Peter Mazza, LB, Yale

1999 – Bobby Myers, DB, Wisconsin

1998 – Carl Bond, RB, Connecticut

1997 – Kyle McIntosh, RB, Syracuse

1996 – Tarek Salah, LB, Wisconsin

1995 – Tarek Salah, LB, Wisconsin

1994 – Jason Miska, LB, Auburn

1993 – Chris Zingo, LB, Cornell

1992 – Curtis Eller, LB, Villanova

1991 – Corey Vincent, DL, Holy Cross

1990 – Rob Thomson, DB, Syracuse

1989 – Terry Wooden, LB, Syracuse

1988 – Glenn Antrum, WR, Connecticut

1987 – Bill Romanowski, LB, Boston College

1986 – Richard Comizio, RB, Pennsylvania

1985 – Tom Patton, DE, Holy Cross

1984 – No recipient

1983 – Steve Young, QB, Brigham Young

1982 – Mike Marshall, DB, Southern Conn.

1981 – Richard Diana, RB, Yale