2015 Walter Camp FCS All-America Team

Illinois State running back Marshaun Coprich (Illinois State) headlines Walter Camp’s 2015 Football Championship Subdivision All-America team. The team was selected by the head coaches and sports information directors of the Football Championship Subdivision schools and certified by the accounting and auditing firm, Marcum LLP.


Coprich rushed for 1,967 yards and 22 touchdowns for the Redbirds and is a repeat Walter Camp FCS All-America selection.  Joining Coprich in the offensive backfield is running Kade Harrington (Lamar), who rushed for 2,092 yards and 21 touchdowns. The quarterback is freshman Case Cookus (Northern Arizona), who passed for 3,117 yards and 37 touchdowns.

Cooper Kupp (Eastern Washington) and Jake Weineke (South Dakota State) are the wide receivers. Kupp had 114 receptions for 1,462 yards and 19 touchdowns, while Weineke had 72 catches for 1,472 yards and 11 touchdowns in 2015.

Leading the defensive unit are two returning All-Americans – senior nose tackle Javon Hargrave (South Carolina State), the 2015 MEAC Defensive Player of the Year, and senior defensive end James Cowser (Southern Utah).   Hargrave posted 13.5 quarterback sacks for the Bulldogs, while Cowser had 13 sacks for the Thunderbirds.

The nation’s sack leader (18), Tyrone Holmes (Montana) is on the All-American team, along with the nation’s tackles (163) leader, Deon King (Norfolk State).

The kick returner is Willie Quinn (Southern), who has four kickoff returns for touchdowns this season.

In all, players from 10 different conferences and 23 institutions are represented on the 2015 Walter Camp FCS All-America team.  The Big Sky Conference had the most selections with eight, while the Southern Conference had four, and Missouri Valley Conference three. Two schools, The Citadel and Northern Arizona, had two selections.       

Walter Camp, “The Father of American Football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting All-America teams for the Football Bowl and Championship subdivisions.

2015 Walter Camp FCS All America Team

2015 Walter Camp FCS All-America Team


Pos.     Name, School                                                 Ht        Wgt     Yr.      Hometown

WR      Cooper Kupp, Eastern Washington                6-2       205      Jr.        Yakima, WA

WR      Jake Weineke, South Dakota State                 6-4       210      Soph.   Maple Grove, MN

TE       Ben Braunecker, Harvard                               6-4       245      Sr.        Ferdinand, IN

OL       Joe Haeg, North Dakota State                                    6-6       310      Sr.        Lake Shore, MN

OL       Sam Frye, The Citadel                                    5-10     277      Sr.        Charlotte, NC

OL       Corey Levin, Chattanooga                              6-5       305      Jr.        Dacula, GA

OL       Donald Jackson, III, Sam Houston State       6-2       290      Fr.        Kilgore, TX

C         Joe Hawkins, Weber State                              6-1       325      Sr.        Vero Beach, FL

QB      Case Cookus, Northern Arizona                     6-4       200      Fr.        Thousand Oaks, CA

RB       Kade Harrington, Lamar                                 5-9       190      Jr.        Kingwood, TX

RB       Marshaun Coprich, Illinois State *                 5-9       205      Jr.        Victorville, CA

PK       Anthony Pistelli, Samford                              5-9       199      Sr.        Thomasville, GA



Pos.     Name, School                                                 Ht        Wgt     Yr.      Hometown

DL       Javon Hargrave, South Carolina State *         6-2       295      Sr.        Salisbury, NC

DL       Noah Spence, Eastern Kentucky                    6-3       261      Jr.        Harrisburg, PA

DL       Tyrone Holmes, Montana                               6-4       250      Sr.        Eagle Point, OR

DL       James Cowser, Southern Utah *                     6-4       258      Sr.        Fruit Heights, UT

LB       Deon King, Norfolk State                              6-1       235      Sr         Reston, VA

LB       Christian Kuntz, Duquesne                             6-1       220      Jr.        Pittsburgh, PA

LB       Darnell Sankey, Sacramento State                  6-2       250      Sr.        San Jose, CA

DB      Dee Delaney, The Citadel                               6-1       191      Soph.   Seabrook, NC

DB      Deiondre’ Hall, Northern Iowa                      6-2       190      Sr.        Blue Springs, MO

DB      DeAndre Houston-Carson, William & Mary  6-2       195      Sr.        Woodford, VA

DB      Patrick Onwausor, Portland State                  6-2       225      Sr.        Inglewood, CA

P          Ryan Hawkins, Northern Arizona                  5-11     185      Sr.        Peoria, AZ

KR      Willie Quinn, Southern                                   5-9       145      Sr.        Miami, FL



* 2014 Walter Camp FCS All-America selection                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       



0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *