Darien High School to Receive Walter Camp’s 2015 “Joseph W. Kelly” Award

The Darien Blue Wave, the Class LL state champion and No. 1 team in the state’s high school football season-ending polls, is the Walter Camp Football Foundation’s choice to receive the 2015 Joseph W. Kelly Award. The Kelly Award is presented annually to Connecticut’s top high school football team.

It is the first time Darien has earned the honor. Darien is also the first team since 2008 (New Canaan) from the Fairfield County Interscholastic Athletic Conference to be recognized.

“With its potent offensive attack along with a stingy defense, Darien was outstanding on its way to a perfect season and its first state title since 1996,” said Walter Camp Football Foundation President Robert Kauffman. “We salute Coach Rob Trifone, his staff and players on a phenomenal season.”

Darien won its nine regular-season games, including a 28-21 victory over eventual Class L champion New Canaan, on Thanksgiving morning.

The Blue Wave defeated Staples, 41-7, in the Class LL quarterfinals on December 1. In the semifinals, Darien defeated Southington, 49-7, and culminated its 12-0 perfect season with a 39-7 victory over Shelton in the championship game on December 12.   In its 12 games, the Blue Wave averaged 43.8 points per game, allowing just 11.1.

Coach Trifone and the Darien team, along with members of the 2015 Walter Camp All-America team and Player of the Year Derrick Henry (Alabama), will be honored at the organization’s national awards banquet, presented by First Niagara Bank, on Saturday, January 16, 2016 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

In addition, the Foundation will recognize three individuals – Special Olympics CEO Tim Shriver (Distinguished American), former Florida State and Oakland Raider standout wide receiver Fred Biletnikoff (Man of the Year) and former Grambling State All-American and NFL quarterback Doug Williams (Alumnus of the Year) – with major awards. Visit www.waltercamp.org or call (203) 288-CAMP (288-2267) for additional information.

Also on January 16, Darien along with the three other state football champions (New Canaan, Brookfield and Bloomfield) will be recognized at the Walter Camp Breakfast of Champions, which will be held at the Omni Hotel in New Haven. That morning, the Walter Camp All-Connecticut Team, High School Player and Coach of the Year will also be recognized.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team. Visit www.waltercamp.org for more information.


Walter Camp “Joseph W. Kelly Award” Connecticut High School Champions

2015 – Darien

2014 – Southington

2013 – Ansonia

2012 – Daniel Hand (Madison)

2011 – Xavier (Middletown)

2010 – Xavier (Middletown)

2009 – Notre Dame (West Haven)

2008 – New Canaan

2007 – Ansonia

2006 – Ansonia

2005 – Xavier (Middletown)

2004 – Daniel Hand (Madison)

2003 – New Britain

2002 – West Haven

2001 – New Britain

2000 – Fitch (Groton)

1999 – Bloomfield

1998 – Bloomfield

1997 – Daniel Hand (Madison)

1996 – Weaver (Hartford)

1995 – Cheshire

1994 – Cheshire

1993 – Cheshire

1992 – Cheshire

1991 – Notre Dame (West Haven)

1990 – Derby

1989 – Ansonia

1988 – Stratford

1987 – East Catholic (Manchester)

1986 – Trumbull

1985 – Hillhouse (New Haven)

1984 – Middletown

1983 – Ansonia

1982 – St. Joseph’s (Trumbull)

1981 – Naugatuck

1980 – Trumbull

1979 – Newington

1978 – Amity (Woodbridge)

1977 – Trumbull

1976 – Fitch (Groton)


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *