Walter Camp All-Connecticut Team Announced; 9th Annual Breakfast of Champions is January 16

As part of its 49th annual Weekend festivities, the Walter Camp Football Foundation will host its ninth High School “Breakfast of Champions” on Saturday, January 16 at The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale. The event starts at 9 a.m.  The Darien Blue Wave, the No. 1 team in the state’s high school football season-ending polls and recipient of the Foundation’s Kelly Award, will be recognized along with the three other state champions – New Canaan (Class L), Brookfield (Class M) and Bloomfield (Class S).  In addition, members of the 2015 Walter Camp All-Connecticut Team will be recognized.

WCFF Breakfast of Champions 2016


2015 Walter Camp All-Connecticut Team (voted by a panel of state high school coaches)


QB: Michael Collins (New Canaan)

RB: Michael Montano (North Haven), Tajik Bagley (Ansonia)

WR: Nico Ragaini (Notre Dame-West Haven), Xavier Bass (Harding)

TE: Jeremy Imperati (North Haven)

OL: Kevin Lawrence (Xavier), Andrew Stueber (Darien), Connor Mignone (Joel Barlow), Lucas Niang (New Canaan)

C: Jackson Ward (Staples)



LB: Ben Mason (Newtown), Teddy Allmendinger (Avon), Robert Drysdale (Brookfield)

DB: Tyler Bailey (Ansonia), Keyion Dixon (Glastonbury), Robert Trifone (Darien), Tyler Coyle (Windsor)

DL: CJ Falcioni (Seymour), Kahari Scarlett (Bloomfield), Mark Evanchick (Darien), Cameron Ryan (St. Joseph)



PK: Dane Borges (Brookfield)

P: Luke Saccone (Ledyard)

KR: Jasen Rose (Southington)

The Foundation will also recognize two outstanding student-athletes from the Fairchester League — Koby Quansah, an offensive and defensive lineman from Kingswood-Oxford, and Matt Murchison, a running back/linebacker from Hamden Hall.

The three finalists for state Player of the Year include: QB Michael Collins (New Canaan), DL Mark Evanchick (Darien) and QB/KR Jasen Rose (Southington).

The four finalists for the state Coach of the Year, presented by Stadium System, are Ty Outlaw (Bloomfield), Jeff Roy (Shelton), Anthony Sagnella (North Haven) and Rob Trifone (Darien).

The Lifetime Achievement Award, which is presented by NFP Sports, will be presented to former Lyman Hall (Wallingford) coach and athletic director Phillip Ottochian. Ottochian coached Lyman Hall for 32 seasons (1968 to 1999) and recorded 159 victories and one state championship (1985) during that span.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *