Walter Camp 2015 “Player of the Year” Recipient and Nation’s Oldest “All-America Team” Will Be Announced Thursday, Dec. 10

New Haven-based Walter Camp Football Foundation will be in the national spotlight on Thursday, December 10th.

The recipient of the 2015 Walter Camp Player of the Year award will be presented during the 6 p.m. edition of ESPN SportsCenter. The five finalists for the 2015 Player of the Year award are running back Derrick Henry (Alabama), defensive back Desmond King (Iowa), running back/kick returner Christian McCaffrey (Stanford), quarterback Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma), and quarterback Deshaun Watson (Clemson).



Later that evening, the Walter Camp All-America team, the nation’s oldest college football All-America squad, will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show (7 p.m. EST) at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Ga. It will be the 126th All-America team selected. The first All-America team was selected in 1889.

The 2015 Walter Camp Player of the Year and members of the All-America team will be honored at the organization’s national awards banquet on Saturday, January 16, 2016 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven. In addition, the Foundation will recognize three individuals – Special Olympics CEO Tim Shriver (Distinguished American), former Florida State and Oakland Raider standout wide receiver Fred Biletnikoff (Man of the Year) and former Grambling State All-American and NFL quarterback Doug Williams (Alumnus of the Year) – with major awards.

Please visit or call (203) 288-CAMP (288-2267) for more information.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American Football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *