Southington High School Named “Joseph Kelly” Award Winner

New Haven, CT – The Southington Blue Knights, the No. 1 team in the state’s high school football season-ending polls, is the Walter Camp Football Foundation’s choice to receive the Joseph W. Kelly Award, which is awarded annually to Connecticut’s top high school football team.

Southington Blue Knights – 2014WCFFKellyAward

It is the first time Southington has earned the honor. Southington is also the first team since 2003 (New Britain) from the Central Connecticut Conference to be recognized.

“With its potent offensive attack along with a stingy defense, Southington was outstanding on its way to winning its second straight Class LL state title,” said Walter Camp Football Foundation President James Monico. “We salute Coach Mike Drury, his staff and players on a phenomenal season.”

Southington won its ten regular-season games and then defeated Glastonbury, 42-14, in the Class LL Large semifinals on December 6. A week later, the Blue Knights blanked Norwich Free Academy, 49-0, in the championship game – completing a perfect 12-0 campaign. The Blue Knights averaged 43.4 points per game, allowing just 9.8. Southington, which also captured the 2013 Class LL state championship, has now won 20 straight games.

Coach Drury and the Southington team, along with members of the 2014 Walter Camp All-America team and Player of the Year Marcus Mariota (Oregon), will be honored at the organization’s national awards banquet, presented by First Niagara Bank, on Saturday, January 17, 2015 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

In addition, the Foundation will recognize three individuals – broadcasting legend Verne Lundquist (Distinguished American), former Notre Dame and Pittsburgh Steeler standout running back Jerome Bettis (Man of the Year) and former Air Force All-American and Dallas Cowboy Chad Hennings (Alumnus of the Year) – with major awards.

Also on January 17, Southington along with the seven other state football champions will be recognized at the Walter Camp Breakfast of Champions, which will be held at Anthony’s Ocean View. That morning, the Walter Camp All-Connecticut Team, High School Player and Coach of the Year will also be announced.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.


Walter Camp “Joseph W. Kelly Award”  Connecticut High School Champions

2014 – Southington

2013 – Ansonia

2012 – Daniel Hand (Madison)

2011 – Xavier (Middletown)

2010 – Xavier (Middletown)

2009 – Notre Dame (West Haven)

2008 – New Canaan

2007 – Ansonia

2006 – Ansonia

2005 – Xavier (Middletown)

2004 – Daniel Hand (Madison)

2003 – New Britain

2002 – West Haven

2001 – New Britain

2000 – Fitch (Groton)

1999 – Bloomfield

1998 – Bloomfield

1997 – Daniel Hand (Madison)

1996 – Weaver (Hartford)

1995 – Cheshire

1994 – Cheshire

1993 – Cheshire

1992 – Cheshire

1991 – Notre Dame (West Haven)

1990 – Derby

1989 – Ansonia

1988 – Stratford

1987 – East Catholic (Manchester)

1986 – Trumbull

1985 – Hillhouse (New Haven)

1984 – Middletown

1983 – Ansonia

1982 – St. Joseph’s (Trumbull)

1981 – Naugatuck

1980 – Trumbull

1979 – Newington

1978 – Amity (Woodbridge)

1977 – Trumbull

1976 – Fitch (Groton)