2014 Walter Camp FCS All-America Team

NEW HAVEN, CT – Three-time selection Zach Zenner (South Dakota State) headlines Walter Camp’s 2014 Football Championship Subdivision All-America team. The team was selected by the head coaches and sports information directors of the Football Championship Subdivision schools and certified by the accounting and auditing firm, Marcum LLP.

2014 Walter Camp FCS All-America Team

A running back, Zenner is the sixth player to be a three-time Walter Camp FCS All-America selection, joining former New Hampshire standouts, wide receiver David Ball (2004-2006), quarterback David Santos (2005-2007) and linebacker Matt Evans (2010-2012), Appalachian State defensive back Mark Legree (2008-2010) and defensive back Marcus Williams (2011-2013).

Zenner rushed for 2,019 yards and 22 touchdowns on the season. He is joined in the offensive backfield by Illinois State’s Marshawn Coprich, who has led the Redbirds into the FCS semifinals by rushing for 2,089 yards and 26 touchdowns. At quarterback is Villanova junior John Robertson, who threw for 2,846 yards and 35 touchdowns for the Wildcats, while adding 1,078 rushing yards and 11 more scores.   Robertson was the recipient of the Walter Payton Award, given to the nation’s best FCS player.

There are three repeat Walter Camp FCS All-Americans on defense, led by linebacker Quinn Backus (Coastal Carolina) and defensive back Caleb Schaffitzel (Missouri State). Backus totaled 127 tackles and 5.5 quarterback sacks for the 12-2 Chanticleers. Schaffitzel recorded 96 tackles and 12 pass break-ups this season.   Punter Kyle Loomis (Portland State) is a repeat All-American honoree. Loomis averaged a FCS-best 46.0 yards per punt for the Vikings.

The 2014 Buck Buchanan Award recipient, North Dakota State defensive end Kyle Emanuel is on the team. Emanuel leads the FCS in tackles for loss (28.5) and is second in sacks (17.0).

Twenty-one different schools and seven FCS conferences are represented on the 2014 FCS All-America team. Four schools (North Dakota State, New Hampshire, Villanova and Northern Iowa) had two selections. The Missouri Valley Conference led the way with eight selections, while the Big Sky had six and Colonial Athletic Association had four.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. Visit http://www.ncfaa.org.

2014 Walter Camp FCS All-America Team


First Team Offense

Pos.     Name, School                                                 Ht        Wgt     Yr.      Hometown

WR      De’Andre Carter, Sacramento State                 5-10     185      Sr.        San Jose, CA

WR      R.J. Harris, New Hampshire                             6-0       200      Jr.        Odenton, MD

TE        Mycole Pruitt, Southern Illinois              6-3       255      Sr.        St. Louis, MO

OL       Mike Coccia, New Hampshire              6-2       282      R-Fr.    Bethlehem, PA

OL       Jack Rummels, Northern Iowa              6-5       300      Sr.        West Branch, PA

OL       Colin Seibert, Eastern Illinois                             6-4       277      R-Jr.    Oswego, IL

OL       Jake Rodgers, Eastern Washington                   6-6       320      Jr.        Spokane, WA

C         Max Holcombe, Jacksonville State                    6-3       290      Jr.        Tuscaloosa, AL

QB       John Robertson, Villanova                                6-1       221      Jr.        Paramus, NJ

RB       Zack Zenner, South Dakota State @                6-0       220      Sr.        Eagen, MN

RB       Marshawn Coprich, Illinois State                       5-9       205      Jr.        Victorville, CA

PK       Michael Schmadeke, Northern Iowa                 5-10     161      Jt.         Waterloom IA


First Team Defense

Pos.     Name, School                                                 Ht        Wgt     Yr.      Hometown

DL       Zack Wagenmann, Montana                             6-4       250      Sr.        Missoula, MT

DL       Kyle Emanuel, North Dakota State                   6-3       246      Jr.        Shuyler, NE

DL       Javon Hargrave, South Carolina State   6-2       295      Jr.        Salisbury, NC

DL       James Cowser, Southern Utah              6-4       258      Jr.        Fruit Heights, UT

LB       Nick Dzubner, Cal-Poly                                   6-2       250      Sr.   Rancho Santa Margarita, CA

LB       Quinn Backus, Coastal Carolina *                     5-10     215      Sr.        Greenwood, SC

LB       Don Cherry, Villanova                          6-1       221      Jr.        Trumbull, CT

DB       Caleb Schaffitzel, Missouri State *                    6-0       217      Sr.        Fairgrove, MO

DB       Colton Heagle, North Dakota State                  5-11     202      R-Jr.    Appleton, WI

DB       Jacob Hagen, Liberty                                        6-3       205      Sr.        Orange Park, FL

DB       Donald Payne, Stetson                          6-0       215      Soph.   Fayetteville, GA

P          Kyle Loomis, Portland State *              6-2       230      Sr.        Roseburg, OR

KR       Pokey Harris, Murray State                              5-10     165      Jr.        Winchester, KY


* – 2013 Walter Camp FCS All-American

@ – 2012 and 2013 Walter Camp FCS All-American