Lions WR Calvin Johnson and Panthers LB Luke Keuchly Named Walter Camp All-America Alumni NFL Players of the Week

The Walter Camp Football Foundation has announced its All-America Alumni NFL Offensive and Defensive Players of the week for games ending November 30.

Alumni POW 12-1

About the Award: The Walter Camp Foundation has more than 300 of its All-American alumni currently on NFL rosters. The Foundation’s All-America teams date back to 1889, and the Foundation has also selected a Second Team since 1998.   Each week during the NFL regular-season, the Walter Camp Foundation will recognize one offensive and one defensive player as its Alumni Players of the Week.


IMG_3777 (2)


CALVIN JOHNSON, Wide Receiver, Detroit Lions

Calvin Johnson had eight catches for 93 yards and three touchdowns as the Detroit Lions defeated the Philadelphia Eagles, 45-14. It is the second time this season Johnson has been honored (Oct. 20). A collegiate standout at Georgia Tech, Johnson was a two-time Walter Camp All-America honoree (2005 and 2006).



LUKE KUECHLY, Linebacker, Carolina Panthers

Luke Kuechly registered seven tackles and two interceptions, including one he returned for a touchdown, to lead the undefeated Carolina Panthers to a 33-14 victory over the Dallas Cowboys. It is the second time this season Kuechly has been honored (Oct. 20).   While at Boston College, Kuechly earned Walter Camp First Team All-American honors in both 2010 and 2011.


Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation (, @WalterCampFF) – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team. The Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s website,


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *