Walter Camp Foundation Announces Fifteen “Players to Watch” for 2021 Player of the Year Award

The Walter Camp Football Foundation has announced the names of fifteen “Players to Watch” for its 2021 Player of the Year award, the fourth-oldest college football award in the nation.

“It’s been another exciting college football season with many teams and players still in the hunt for national recognition,” Foundation president Mario Coppola said. “We’ve identified some outstanding players and we know the final weeks of the regular season should be even more thrilling.”

The 15-player watch list includes eight quarterbacks, four defensive players, two running backs and one wide receiver. Thirteen different schools and six conferences are represented on the list.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year is voted on by the 130 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors.   A list of five finalists will be announced on Thursday, December 2, and the winner announced on ESPN’s College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 9. 

The 2020 Walter Camp Player of the Year was former Alabama and current Philadelphia Eagle wide receiver DeVonta Smith.

2021 Walter Camp Player of the Year Semifinalists

Will Anderson, Alabama, LB

Matt Corral, Ole Miss, QB

Jordan Davis, Georgia, DL

Jahan Dotson, Penn State, WR

Sam Hartman, Wake Forest, QB

TreVeyon Henderson, Ohio State, RB

Devin Lloyd, Utah, LB

Kenny Pickett, Pittsburgh, QB

Desmond Ridder, Cincinnati, QB

C.J. Stroud, Ohio State, QB

Kayvon Thibodeaux, DL, Oregon

Kenneth Walker III, Michigan State, RB

Caleb Williams, Oklahoma, QB

Bryce Young, Alabama, QB

Bailey Zappe, QB, Western Kentucky

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side

 The Walter Camp Football Foundation (,@WalterCampFF) – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.  The Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s website,