Walter Camp Football Foundation Announces “Players to Watch” for 2020 Player of the Year Award

The Walter Camp Football Foundation has announced the names of twenty “Players to Watch” for its 2020- Player of the Year award, the fourth-oldest college football award in the nation.

Players from the top seven teams in the most recent College Football Playoff rankings are on the list, including quarterback Mac Jones, wide receiver Davonta Smith and running back Najee Harris from top-ranked Alabama. Quarterback Ian Book from second-ranked Notre Dame is on the watch list along with quarterback Trevor Lawrence and running back Travis Etienne from third-ranked Clemson.    

The 20-player watch list includes eight quarterbacks, six running backs, six defensive players and two wide receivers/tight ends.  Fourteen different schools and eight conferences are represented on the list.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year is voted on by the 130 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors.   A list of five finalists will be announced on Monday, December 28, and the winner announced on ESPN SportsCenter on Thursday, January 7. 

The 2019 Walter Camp Player of the Year was former LSU (and current Cincinnati Bengals) quatrerback Joe Burrow.

2020 Walter Camp Player of the Year Semifinalists

Ian Book, QB, Senior, Notre Dame

Zaven Collins, LB, Junior, Tulsa

Travis Etienne, RB, Senior, Clemson

Justin Fields, QB, Junior, Ohio State

Breece Hall, RB, Sophomore, Iowa State

Najee Harris, RB, Senior, Alabama

Tarron Jackson, DE, RS Senior, Coastal Carolina

Buddy Johnson, LB, Senior, Texas A&M

Mac Jones, QB, Junior, Alabama

Trevor Lawrence, QB, Junior, Clemson

Daviyon Nixon, DL, Junior, Iowa

Jaret Patterson, RB, Junior, Buffalo

Kyle Pitts, TE, Junior, Florida

Desmond Ridder, QB, Junior, Cincinnati

Mike Rose, LB, Junior, Iowa State

Kedon Slovis, QB, Sophomore, USC

Devonta Smith, WR, Senior, Alabama

Kyle Trask, QB, Senior, Florida

Shaun Wade, DB, RS Junior, Ohio State

Zach Wilson, QB, Junior, BYU

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side

 The Walter Camp Football Foundation (,@WalterCampFF) – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.  The Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s website,