Walter Camp Football Foundation Announces Five Finalists for 2019 Player of the Year Award

Two quarterbacks, two running backs and one defensive end comprise the list of five finalists for the Walter Camp Football Foundation 2019 Player of the Year award.

Quarterbacks Joe Burrow (LSU, senior) and Justin Fields (Ohio State, sophomore) and running backs Chuba Hubbard (Oklahoma State, sophomore) and Jonathan Taylor (Wisconsin, junior), join junior defensive end Chase Young (Ohio State, junior) as the five finalists.

The 2019 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, who is voted on by the 130 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on Thursday, December 12 during the 6 p.m. edition of ESPN SportsCenter.

Ranked second in the nation in passing efficiency (203.0), Burrow has passed for 4,366 yards and 44 touchdowns for the second-ranked Tigers (12-0).  Fields has accounted for 47 touchdowns (37 passing, 10 rushing) and ranks fourth in the nation with a 190.2 passing efficiency rating for the top-ranked Buckeyes (12-0).    Hubbard is the nation’s rushing leader (1,936) and has scored 21 touchdowns for the 25th-ranked Cowboys (8-4).  Taylor is the nation’s second-leading rusher (1,761) and has scored 25 touchdowns (20 rushing, 5 receiving) for the eighth-ranked Badgers (10-2).  Young has been a dominant force for the Buckeyes with 38 tackles, 16.5 quarterback sacks and seven forced fumbles.

Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa was the 2018 Walter Camp Player of the Year.

The 2019 winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s 53rd annual national awards banquet, presented by David McDermott Lexus of New Haven, on Saturday, January 18, 2020 at Yale University’s Lanman Center.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side.  The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and continue the tradition of selecting an annual All-America team. Visit

The Walter Camp Football Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. Visit