Walter Camp All-Connecticut Teams Announced; 13th Annual Breakfast of Champions is January 18

As part of its 53rd annual Weekend festivities, the Walter Camp Football Foundation will host its 13th High School “Breakfast of Champions,” presented by Town Fair Tire and NFP Sports, on Saturday, January 18 at The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale. The event starts at 8:30 a.m. 

The four Connecticut high school 2019 state champions – Newtown (Class LL), St. Joseph of Trumbull (Class L), Weston (Class M) and Sheehan of Wallingford (Class S) – will be recognized.  In addition, members of the 2019 Walter Camp All-Connecticut Teams (1st and 2nd) will be recognized.

The finalists for the 2019 Coach of the Year, presented by Stadium System, are John Ferrazzi (Sheehan), David Mastroianni (Daniel Hand) and Bob Pattison (Newtown)

The three finalists for the 2019 Player of the Year are Phoenix Billings (Daniel Hand), Terrence Bogan (Sheehan), and Jaden Shirden (St. Joseph).

The Lifetime Achievement Award, which is presented by NFP Sports, will be presented to former Daniel Hand head coach Steve Filippone.  Filippone coached 28 seasons at Daniel Hand, totaling 332 career victories and seven state titles.  Filippone was the Walter Camp High School Coach of the Year in 2011 and 2012.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

The Foundation will hold its annual national awards banquet, presented by David McDermott Lexus, on Saturday, January 18, 2020 at Yale University’s Lanman Center.   2019 Walter Camp Player of the Year Joe Burrow (LSU), along with members of the 2019 Walter Camp All-America team, and other major award winners (Man of the Year-Curtis Martin; Distinguished American-Chris Berman), will be honored.

NOTE:  The Walter Camp All-Connecticut Team is voted on by a Selection Committee, which is comprised of 10 high school head coaches that represent nine conferences around the state.

First Team Walter Camp All-Connecticut – 2019


QB: Phoenix Billings (Daniel Hand)

RB: Terrence Bogan (Sheehan)#, Jaden Shirden (St. Joseph)#

WR: Jordan Davis (Sheehan), Anthony Simpson (Bloomfield)

TE: Ethan Haberman (Daniel Hand)

OL: Tom Bambrick (Daniel Hand), Will Bergin (Cheshire), Jacob Galarza (Killingly), Kyle Good (Newtown), Troy Rainey (Harding)


LB: Jared Dunn (Newtown), Tommy Guilfoyle (Simsbury), Alex Pagliarini (St. Joseph)

DB: James Goetz (Weston), Alex Hanna (Ridgefield), Jake Thaw (Staples), Jack Zingaro (Newtown)

DL: Ben Corniello (Daniel Hand)*, Joe DiGello (Amity Regional)#, Edward Iuteri (Greenwich), Jermaine Williams (St. Joseph)

Special Teams

PK:  Noe Ruelas (Hall)

P: AJ Konstanty (Staples)

Returner: Colin McCabe (Daniel Hand)

Second Team Walter Camp All-Connecticut – 2019


QB: Drew Pyne (New Canaan)

RB: Roberto Salas (Platt), James Tarver (Maloney)

WR: Andrew Cote (Norwich Free Academy), Connor Pace (Wethersfield)

TE: Jaquan Dufour (Rockville)

OL:  Nick Dilorio (St. Joseph), Reid Englert (Ridgefield), Matthew Gulbin (Wilton), Jaylen John (Platt), Sam Papp (Norwalk)


LB: Billy Carr (Southington), Cole DaSilva (St. Joseph), Sam Wilson (Darien)

DB: Johnny Carreiro (Southington), Shykeem Harmon (Ansonia), Kamron Moreno (Maloney), Tyler Pjatek (Shelton)

DL: Jah Joyner (Danbury), James Knox (Newtown), Mike Lockavitch (Shelton), Braedon McCarthy (Sheehan), Michael Morrissey (St. Joseph)

Special Teams

PK: Austin Jose (St. Joseph)

P: Jack Mulligan (Newtown)

Returner: Jalen Gopie (Waterbury Career)

* – 2018 Walter Camp All-Connecticut First Team honoree

# – 2018 Walter Camp All-Connecticut Second Team honoree