Walter Camp All-Connecticut Teams Announced; 12th Annual Breakfast of Champions is January 12

As part of its 52nd annual Weekend festivities, the Walter Camp Football Foundation will host its 12th High School “Breakfast of Champions,” presented by Town Fair Tire and NFP Sports, on Saturday, January 12 at The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale. The event starts at 8:30 a.m. The four Connecticut high school 2018 state champions – Greenwich (Class LL), Daniel Hand of Madison (Class L), St. Joseph of Trumbull (Class M) and Bloomfield (Class S) – will be recognized.  In addition, members of the 2018 Walter Camp All-Connecticut Teams (1st and 2nd) will be recognized.

The finalists for the 2018 Coach of the Year, presented by Stadium System, are John Marinelli (Greenwich), David Mastroianni (Daniel Hand) and Brian Mazzone (Stafford/East Windsor/Somers co-op).

The three finalists for the 2018 Player of the Year, presented by Heavy Hitters, are Terrence Bogan (Sheehan), Ky’Juon Butler (Bloomfield) and Gavin Muir (Greenwich).

The Lifetime Achievement Award, which is presented by NFP Sports, will be presented to former West Haven head coach Ed McCarthy.  McCarthy, who coached 12 seasons at St. Joseph in addition to his 32 at West Haven, totaled 332 career victories and seven state titles (3 at St. Joseph, 4 at West Haven).

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

The Foundation will hold its annual national awards banquet, presented by David McDermott Lexus, on Saturday, January 12, 2019 at Yale University’s Lanman Center.   2018 Walter Camp Player of the Year Tua Tagovailoa (Alabama), along with members of the 2018 Walter Camp All-America team, and other major award winners (Alumni Award-Larry Fitzgerald; Man of the Year-Mike Golic; Distinguished American-Archie Manning, and Connecticut Player of the Year-Zach Allen), will be honored.


NOTE:  The Walter Camp All-Connecticut Team is voted on by a Selection Committee, which is comprised of 10 high school head coaches that represent nine conferences around the state.


First Team Walter Camp All-Connecticut – 2018



QB: Gavin Muir (Greenwich)

RB: Ky’Juon Butler (Bloomfield), Tysen Comizio (Greenwich)

WR: Finn Duran (Fairfield Prep), Quintin O’Connell (New Canaan)

TE: Zachary Hrubiec (Berlin)

OL: Ben Corniello (Daniel Hand), William Keating (Darien), Matthew Phelan (Killingly), Jack Stewart (New Canaan)*

C: Jack Conley (New Canaan) #


LB: Connor Fay (Darien)*, Jack Feda (Greenwich), Cade Klarides-Ditria (Seymour)

DB: Ian Butler (Daniel Hand)#, Colton Engel (Stafford/East Windsor/Somers)#, Victor Marquez (Maloney), Ryan Raybuck (Greenwich)

DL: Gramoz Bici (Greenwich), Jack Flanagan (Daniel Hand), Edward Iuteri (Greenwich), Jackson Mitchell (Ridgefield)*

Special Teams

PK:  Luke Desaulnier (Killingly)

P: Luke Kirby (St. Joseph)

Returner: Raquan Tompkins (East Hartford)


Second Team Walter Camp All-Connecticut – 2018



QB: David Summers (St. Joseph)*

RB: Terrence Bogan (Sheehan), Dan Mason (Newtown)

WR: Ethan Saley (Jonathan Law), Nick Wright (Cromwell/Portland)

TE: Callum Redman (RHAM)

OL:  Jaylen John (Platt), Aiden Maher (Haddam-Killingworth), Samuel McCarty (Southington), Ray Weiner (Shelton)

C: Jack McBreairty (Greenwich)


LB: Garrett Braden (New Canaan), Nicholas Dodge (North Haven), Johnathan Kopek (Stafford/East Windsor/Somers)

DB: Zack Hochman (Notre Dame-West Haven), Joseph Pagett (Newtown), William Rechtermann (New Canaan), Julien Rivas (Stafford/East Windsor/Somers)

DL: Dohnje Cassanova (Windsor), Joe Digello (Amity Regional), George Harrington (Staples), Nick Helbig (Fitch)

Special Teams

PK: Evan Damian (East Haven)

P: Tyler Oney (Capital Prep)

Returner: Jaden Shirden (St. Joseph)


* – 2017 Walter Camp All-Connecticut First Team honoree

# – 2017 Walter Camp All-Connecticut Second Team honoree