Walter Camp 2021 FCS All America Team

The Walter Camp FCS All-America team is voted by the FCS sports information directors.


Wide Receiver: Xavier Gipson, sophomore, Stephen F. Austin; BJ Byrd, senior, Morehead State

Tight End:  Kemari Averett, senior, Bethune-Cookman

Offensive Line:  Trevor Penning, junior, Northern Iowa; Cordell Volson, senior, North Dakota State; Cole Strange, senior, Tennessee Chattanooga, Lewis Kidd, senior, Montana State

Center:   Thomas Parker, junior, Sacramento State

Quarterback:  Eric Barriere, senior, Eastern Washington

Running Back:  Quay Holmes, freshman, East Tennessee State;Pierre Strong, Jr, senior, South Dakota State

Placekicker:  Ethan Ratke, senior, James Madison


Defensive Line:  Jared Brinkman, senior, Northern Iowa; Josiah Silver, freshman, New Hampshire; Nate Lynn, senior, William & Mary; Jahari Kay, senior, Sam Houston State

Linebackers:  Isaiah Land, junior, Florida A&M; Troy Anderson, senior, Montana State; Matt Shotwell, senior, Cal Poly; Forrest Rhyne, graduate, Villanova

Defensive Backs:  Justin Ford, senior, Montana; Darius Joiner, senior, Western Illinois; Christian Benford, senior, Villanova; Markquese Bell, senior, Florida A&M

Punter:  Brian Buschini, freshman, Montana

Kick Returner:  Rashid Shaheed, senior, Weber Sate

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation (,@WalterCampFF) – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.  The Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s website,