Greenwich High School to Receive Walter Camp’s 2018 “Joseph W. Kelly” Award

The Greenwich Cardinals, the Class LL state champion and No. 1 team in the state’s high school football season-ending polls, is the Walter Camp Football Foundation’s choice to receive the 2018 Joseph W. Kelly Award.  The Kelly Award is presented annually to Connecticut’s top high school football team.

It is the first time Greenwich has won the award.  It was also the fourth straight year a team from the FCIAC has earned the honor, tying the record held by the Southern Connecticut Conference (2009-2012).

“Utilizing a stingy defense and an explosive offense, Greenwich was exceptional on its way to its championship season,” said Walter Camp Football Foundation President Michael Madera.  “We salute Coach John Marinelli, his staff and players on an outstanding season.”

Greenwich went 10-0 during the 2018 regular-season.  The Cardinals then defeated New Britain, 34-13, in the Class LL quarterfinals on November 27.  In the semifinals, Greenwich defeated Newtown, 50-0, and culminated its championship season with a 34-0 victory over New Canaan on December 8.    It was the Cardinals’ first state title since 2007.

In their 13 games, the Cardinals averaged 43.4 points per game, allowing just 4.2 a game.

Coach Marinelli and the Greenwich team will be recognized at the organization’s High School Breakfast of Champions event, on Saturday, January 12 at the Omni New Haven Hotel. Greenwich, along with the three other state football champions (Daniel Hand, St. Joseph and Bloomfield) will be feted.  Also that morning, the Walter Camp All-Connecticut Team, High School Player and Coach of the Year will also be recognized.

Later that evening, The Foundation will hold its annual national awards banquet, presented by David McDermott Lexus, at Yale University’s Lanman Center.   Walter Camp Player of the Year Tua Tagovailoa), along with members of the 2018 Walter Camp All-America team, and other major award winners (Man of the Year-Mike Golic; Distinguished American-Archie Manning, and Connecticut Player of the Year-Zach Allen), will be honored.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.  Visit for more information.

Walter Camp “Joseph W. Kelly Award” Connecticut High School Champions

2018 – Greenwich

2017 – Darien

2016 – Darien

2015 – Darien

2014 – Southington

2013 – Ansonia

2012 – Daniel Hand (Madison)

2011 – Xavier (Middletown)

2010 – Xavier (Middletown)

2009 – Notre Dame (West Haven)

2008 – New Canaan

2007 – Ansonia

2006 – Ansonia

2005 – Xavier (Middletown)

2004 – Daniel Hand (Madison)

2003 – New Britain

2002 – West Haven

2001 – New Britain

2000 – Fitch (Groton)

1999 – Bloomfield

1998 – Bloomfield

1997 – Daniel Hand (Madison)

1996 – Weaver (Hartford)

1995 – Cheshire

1994 – Cheshire

1993 – Cheshire

1992 – Cheshire

1991 – Notre Dame (West Haven)

1990 – Derby

1989 – Ansonia

1988 – Stratford

1987 – East Catholic (Manchester)

1986 – Trumbull

1985 – Hillhouse (New Haven)

1984 – Middletown

1983 – Ansonia

1982 – St. Joseph’s (Trumbull)

1981 – Naugatuck

1980 – Trumbull

1979 – Newington

1978 – Amity (Woodbridge)

1977 – Trumbull

1976 – Fitch (Groton)