48th Annual Walter Camp Weekend A Success – Thank you!

Thank you to all who participated in the 48th Walter Camp Football Weekend.  Thank you to our sponsors and award recipients.

Click here for the Weekend photo gallery, courtesy of Kiernan Photography


Here are some links to media coverage from the weekend

New Haven Register, “Walter Camp Weekend: Photos Through the Years”

New Haven Register, “Walter Camp Man of the Year:  Jerome Bettis Still Delivering”

WTNH TV NEWS 8, “Walter Camp Weekend Begins”

New Haven Register, “Stay-in-School Rally Provides Solid Advice”

New Haven Register, “Veteran Keeps Promise to Fallen Soldiers”

Hartford Courant, “Camp Cites Clemson’s Rodriguez For Valor in Irag, Afghanistan”

New Haven Register, “Walter Camp Notebook: Missouri standout Shane Ray Made it Out of Murder Factory”

WTNH TV NEWS 8 SportzEdge, “One-on-One With Clemson’s Daniel Rodriguez”

New Haven Register, “Walter Camp Weekend Notebook”

WTNH TV NEWS 8 Sportzdge, “One-on-One with Ickey Woods at Walter Camp Weekend”

Meriden Record Journal, “Football Players Visit Rehab Hospital”

GameTimeCT.com, Shelton’s Mark Piccirillo Named Walter Camp Player of the Year”

Meriden Record Journal, “Southington Reaps Camp Honors”

New Haven Register, “2015 Walter Camp Weekend Photo Gallery”

2014 FBS All-America Teams

2014 FCS All-American Team


Major Award Winners:

Alumni Award: Chad Hennings, U.S. Air Force Academy

Man of the Year:  Jerome Bettis, Notre Dame

Distinguished American: Verne Lundquist, Texas Lutheran

Player of the Year: Marcus Mariota, QB, Oregon

Coach of the Year: Gary Patterson, TCU

Connecticut Player of the Year:  Tyler Murphy, QB, Boston College (Wethersfield HS)

American Hero Award: Daniel Rodriguez, Clemson

Joseph W. Kelly Award: Southington HS

High School Coach of the Year:  Mike Drury, Southington

High School Player of the Year:  Mark Piccirillo, QB, Shelton

Keish Media Appreciation Award: Joe Morelli, New Haven Register