2019 Walter Camp All-America Notebook

A Little History

This is the 130th edition of the Walter Camp All-America team – the nation’s oldest All-America team. Twenty-six players have been selected to the first team by the 130 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors.  In addition, 25 players were selected to the Second Team.

• From 1889 to 1964, eleven players were selected.

• In 1965, both offensive and defensive teams were picked.

• In 1972, the first punter (Ray Guy, Southern Mississippi) was honored.

• In 1975, the first placekicker (Chris Bahr, Penn State) was selected.

• In 1998, the first-ever Second Team All-America team was recognized.

• In 2001, the first kick returner (Herb Haygood, Michigan State) was picked.

Conference Info

In all, 32 different schools from eight conferences were represented on the All-America First and Second Teams (a total of 51 players selected).    LSU and Wisconsin each have three First Team honorees.   Ohio State has five All-Americans (2 First Team, 3 Second Team), while LSU has four (3 First Team, 1 Second team).  Overall, the Big Ten Conference had the most honorees (15), followed by the Southeastern Conference (13) and Pac-12 (7).

Then and Now

Eighteen different schools are represented on the 2019 Walter Camp All-America First Team.  Of the 18 schools, Minnesota has the most storied tradition of placing members on the team. The Golden Gophers had their first selection in 1909, quarterback John McGovern.   This year, Minnesota has one First Team selection (defensive back Antoine Winfield, Jr.).   Since 1903, Minnesota has had 30Walter Camp All-Americans.

Class Distinction

Of the 26 First Team selections, ten are seniors.  There are ten juniors and six sophomores.  On the Second Team (25 total selections), there are seven seniors, 11 juniors, six sophomores and one freshman (LSU defensive back Derek Stingley, Jr.). 

Player of the Year Joe Burrow

The 53rd recipient of the Walter Camp Player of the Year award, senior quarterback Joe Burrow is the first LSU player to win the prestigious honor.   Overall, Burrow is the 21st quarterback to earn the award.   Burrow is also the ninth player from a SEC school to win the award.   

The 2019 Southeastern Conference Offensive Player of the Year, Burrow has thrown for 4,715 yards and 48 touchdowns – both SEC single-season records – with only six interceptions. Burrow has helped LSU score 47.8 points per game, good for third place among all FBS teams.   Burrow is also the first LSU quarterback to earn Walter Camp All-America honors.

Three Times a Charm

Wisconsin running back Jonathan Taylor is a Walter Camp All-American for the third time.  After earning Second Team All-America honors as a freshman, Taylor has been a First Team selection in 2018 and 2019.    Taylor joins former Badger great Ron Dayne (1998 and 1999) as a two-time Walter Camp First Team All-America selection.

All-American Notables

  • Defensive back Grant Delpit (LSU) is a repeat First Team All-American. Delpit is the first LSU two-time All-American since running back Charles Alexander (1977 and 1978).
  • First Team offensive lineman Andrew Thomas (Georgia) was a Second Team selection in 2018.
  • Second Team honoree Kenny Willekes (Michigan State) was a Second Team selection in 2018. Second Team punter Braden Mann (Texas A&M) was a First Team selection a year ago.

Welcome to the Club

Two schools — Florida Atlantic (tight end Harrison Bryant) and Boise State (defensive end Curtis Weaver) – have their first-ever Walter Camp First Team All-America selection.  

Geaux Tigers

LSU has three First Team All-Americans for the second straight season.  

Buckingham Ulysses Badger

Wisconsin has three First Team All-Americans for the second time.  In 1998, Ron Dayne (RB), Tom Burke (DL) and Aaron Gibson (OL) were recognized as First Team All-Americans.

Walter Camp Weekend is Jan. 16-18

The 2019 Walter Camp All-America team will be honored at the organization’s 53rd annual national awards banquet, presented by David McDermott Lexus of New Haven, on Saturday, January 18, 2020 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven, CT.