2017 Walter Camp Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) All-America Team

Quarterbacks Jeremiah Briscoe (Sam Houston State) and Chris Streveler (South Dakota) headline the 2017 Walter Camp Football Championship Subdivision All-America team.

The team was selected by the head coaches and sports information directors of the Football Championship Subdivision schools and certified by the accounting and auditing firm, Marcum LLP.

Briscoe is a repeat All-American, one of three players who have previously earned Walter Camp All-America honors.  Briscoe led the BearKats to the FCS semifinals, passing for a nation-leading 5,003 yards and 45 touchdowns this season.  Streveler ranked second in the nation with 4,134 yards and 32 touchdowns.

The FCS’ leading rusher with 1,388 yards, junior running back Dominick Bragalone (Lehigh) is on the team along with sophomore Josh Mack (Maine), who has rushed for 1,335 yards.

Leading the defense is senior linebacker Brett Taylor (Western Illinois), a repeat All-America selection who has a nation-leading 162 tackles on the season. The nation’s sack leader (18.0) is senior Jonathan Petersen (University of San Diego) headlines the defensive unit along with senior linebacker Matthew Oplinger (Yale), who posted 11.5 sacks for the Ivy League champion Bulldogs.

In all, players from 11 different conferences and 21 institutions are represented on the 2017 Walter Camp FCS All-America team.

The Colonial Athletic Association has the most honorees with five, while the Missouri Valley Conference, Ohio Valley Conference and Southland Conference each have four honorees.

Jacksonville State had the most representatives with four, while FCS finalist James Madison, Central Arkansas and Weber State each had two All-America selections.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.  Visit www.waltercamp.org for more information.


2017 Walter Camp FCS All-America Team


Pos.     Name, School                                                 Hgt      Wgt     Class   Hometown

WR      Keelan Doss, UC Davis                                  6-2       306      Jr.        Alameda, CA

WR      Neil O’Connor, New Hampshire                    5-11     190      Jr.        Leominster, MA

TE       Dallas Goedert, South Dakota State*            6-5       260      Sr.       Britton, SD

OL       Aaron Stinnie, James Madison                      6-5       309      Sr.       Charlottesville, VA

OL       Brandon Parker, North Carolina A&T           6-7       309      Sr.       Kannapolis, NC

OL       Justin Lea, Jacksonville State                                    6-4       290      Sr.       Henagar, AL

OL       John Cook, Central Arkansas                         6-4       325      Jr.        Grenada, MS

C         Tyler Scozzaro, Jacksonville State                6-3       300      Sr.       Bessemer, AL

QB       Chris Streveler, South Dakota                                   6-3       215      Sr.       Crystal Lake, IL

QB       Jeremiah Briscoe, Sam Houston State*         6-3       225      Sr.       Houston, TX

RB       Dominick Bragalone, Lehigh                         5-11     230      Jr.        S.Williamsport, PA

RB       Josh Mack, Maine                                          6-1       198      So.       Rochester, NY

PK       Trey Tuttle, Weber State                                5-9       190      Fr.       Arlington, TX



Pos.     Name, School                                                 Hgt      Wgt     Class   Hometown

DL       Darius Jackson, Jacksonville State                6-3       242      Sr.       Bessemer, AL

DL       Andrew Ankrah, James Madison                   6-4       248      Sr.       Gaithersburg, MD

DL       Jonathan Petersen, University of San Diego 6-1       240      Sr.       Poway, CA

DL       Ahmad Gooden, Samford                               6-1       240      Fr.       Talladega, AL

LB       Brett Taylor, Western Illinois*                      6-2       230      Sr.       Macomb, IL

LB       Darius Leonard, South Carolina State           6-3       235      Sr.       Lake View, SC

LB       Matthew Oplinger, Yale                                 6-3       242      Sr.       Summit, NJ

DB       Mike Basile, Monmouth                                6-1       200      Sr.       Brick, NJ

DB       Marlon Bridges, Jacksonville State               6-0       200      So.       Lanett, AL

DB       Tremon Smith, Central Arkansas                  6-0       190      Sr.       Anniston, AL

DB       Tre Dempsey, North Dakota State                 5-10     184      Sr.       Lakeland, FL

P          Joe Zema, Incarnate Word                             6-2       210      Gr.       Melbourne, Australia

KR       Rashid Shaheed, Weber State                                    6-0       170      Fr.       San Diego, CA


* – 2016 Walter Camp FCS All-America selection