2015 Walter Camp Player of the Year Preseason Watch List Announced

New Haven, Conn. – The Walter Camp Football Foundation has announced the names of fifty “players to watch” for its 2015 Player of the Year award, the nation’s fourth-oldest individual college football accolade.  TCU senior quarterback Trevone Boykin, a Second Team Walter Camp All-American year ago, headlines the 2015 Watch List. Boykin accounted for 3,901 passing yards and 33 touchdowns, while rushing for 707 yards and eight more touchdowns for the 12-1 Horned Frogs.

FINAL — 2015 Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List

Ten players on the 2015 watch list, including 2014 First Teamers Rashard Higgins (Colorado State, wide receiver) and Scooby Wright III (Arizona, linebacker), have previously earned Walter Camp All-America honors.

In all, 37 schools are represented on the list with defending national champion Ohio State having five players, including its three quarterbacks. There are 37 offensive players (22 quarterbacks, 11 running backs and four receivers) and 13 from the defensive side of the ball (5 linebackers, 5 defensive backs and 3 defensive linemen).

“We are proud to continue the great work of Walter Camp and recognize the best college football players in the nation,” Foundation president Robert Kauffman said. “This watch list is a great start to what is shaping up to be another exciting year of college football.”

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in mid-November. The 2015 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 128 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on ESPN SportsCenter on Thursday, December 10. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s annual national awards banquet on January 16, 2016 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Please note: Appearing on the preseason Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Walter Camp award or be named to the All-America team.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation (www.waltercamp.org; @WalterCampFF) – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

The Walter Camp Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast over 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA unveiled their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Sixteen of the association’s 22 awards selected a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates.


2015 Walter Camp Player of the Year Preseason Watch List

Dante Barrett, Senior, S, Kansas State

J.T. Barrett, Sophomore, QB, Ohio State

Devontae Booker, Senior, RB, Utah

Joey Bosa, Junior, DE, Ohio State*

Trevone Boykin, Senior, QB, TCU #

Shilique Calhoun, Senior, DE, Michigan State#

Jeremy Cash, Senior, DB, Duke #

Nick Chubb, Sophomore, RB, Georgia

James Conner, Junior, RB, Pittsburgh #

Connor Cook, Senior, QB, Michigan State

Su’a Cravens, Junior, LB, USC

Brandon Doughty, Senior, QB, Western Kentucky

DeVon Edwards, Junior, DB/KR, Duke $

Ezekiel Elliott, Junior, RB, Ohio State

Kenneth Farrow, Senior, RB, Houston

Leonard Fournette, Sophomore, RB, LSU

Jarvion Franklin, Sophomore, RB, Western Michigan

Royce Freeman, Sophomore, RB, Oregon

Kendall Fuller, Junior, DB, Virginia Tech #

Will Fuller, Junior, WR, Notre Dame

Jared Goff, Junior, QB, California

Everett Golson, Senior, QB, Florida State

Christian Hackenberg, Junior, QB, Penn State

Vernon Hargreaves III, Junior, LB, Florida #

Derrick Henry, Junior, RB, Alabama

Rashard Higgins, Junior, WR, Colorado State*

Taysom Hill, Senior, QB, BYU

Kevin Hogan, Senior, QB, Stanford

Myles Jack, Junior, RB/LB, UCLA

Devon Johnson, Senior, RB, Marshall

Cardale Jones, Junior, QB, Ohio State

Cody Kessler, Senior, QB, USC

Gunner Kiel, Junior, QB, Cincinnati

Paxton Lynch, Junior, QB, Memphis

Blake Martinez, Senior, LB, Stanford

Elijah McGuire, Junior, RB, Louisiana

Braxton Miller, Senior, QB, Ohio State

Shaun Oakman, Senior, DE, Baylor

Samaje Perine, Sophomore, RB, Oklahoma

Paul Perkins, Junior, RB, UCLA

Dak Prescott, Senior, QB, Mississippi State

Keenan Reynolds, Senior, QB, Navy

Anu Solomon, Sophomore, QB, Arizona

Justin Thomas, Junior, QB, Georgia Tech

Darian Thompson, Senior, DB, Boise State

Laquon Treadwell, Junior, WR, Ole Miss

Deshaun Watson, Sophomore, QB, Clemson

Duke Williams, Senior, WR, Auburn

Scooby Wright III, Junior, LB, Arizona*

Malik Zaire, Sophomore, QB, Notre Dame


* – 2014 Walter Camp First Team All-American

# – 2014 Walter Camp Second Team All-American

$ – 2013 Walter Camp Second Team All-American