2012 Walter Camp All-America Notebook

This is the 123rd edition of the Walter Camp All-America team – the nation’s oldest All-America team.

For Immediate Release: December 06, 2012

2012 Walter Camp All-America Notebook

A Little History

This is the 123rd edition of the Walter Camp All-America team – the nation’s oldest All-America team. Twenty-six players have been selected to the first team by the 124 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors. In addition, 25 players have been selected to the Second Team.

• From 1889 to 1964, eleven players were selected.

• In 1965, both offensive and defensive teams were picked.

• In 1972, the first punter (Ray Guy, Southern Mississippi) was honored.

• In 1975, the first placekicker (Chris Bahr, Penn State) was selected.

• In 1998, the first-ever Second Team All-America team was recognized.

• In 2001, the first kick returner (Herb Haygood, Michigan State) was picked.

Conference Info

Nine different conferences, including independent Notre Dame, and 20 schools have representatives on the 2012 Walter Camp All-America First Team. The Southeastern Conference had 10 players representing five member schools selected to the first team, the highest total of any league. The Pac-12 was next with six players selected. Alabama had the most first-team selections with four; it is the second straight year and the third time in the last four that the Crimson Tide had four First Team honorees.

Then and Now

Twenty different schools are represented on the 2012 Walter Camp All-America First Team – the 123rd honored in the name of the former Yale University football legend. Of those 20 schools, Michigan has the honor of being the first represented on a Walter Camp All-America team. Wolverine halfback Willie Heston made the 1903 All-America squad.

Good to See You Again

Two players – center Barrett Jones (Alabama) and linebacker Jarvis Jones (Georgia) – are repeat First Team All-Americans. Three additional players – running back Montee Ball (Wisconsin), linebacker Manti Te’o (Notre Dame) and punter Ryan Allen (Louisiana Tech) – were Second Team honorees in 2011. Lastly, Second Team All-American tight end Tyler Eifert (Notre Dame) was a First Team selection last year.

Player of the Year Manti Te’o

The 46th recipient of the Walter Camp Player of the Year award, Notre Dame inside linebacker Manti Te’o is the third defensive player to earn the honor. Former Pittsburgh defensive end Hugh Green (1980) and Michigan defensive back Charles Woodson (1997) each won the award. Te’o is also the fourth Notre Dame player – tight end Ken MacAfee (1977), wide receiver Tim Brown (1987) and wide receiver Raghib Ismail (1990) – to be selected Player of the Year.

Class Distinction

Of the 26 First Team selections, 15 are seniors. There are seven juniors, three sophomores and one freshman – quarterback Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M). On the Second Team, there are nine seniors, 11 juniors, three sophomores, one freshman (KR Duke Johnson, Miami Fla.) and one graduate student (center Dalton Freeman, Clemson).

A Fresh(man) Face

Quarterback Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M) is the sixth freshman to earn Walter Camp First Team All-America honors. Tyler Lockett (KR, Kansas State – 2011), Michael Crabtree (WR, Texas Tech – 2007), Adrian Peterson (RB, Oklahoma – 2004), Dre Bly (DB, North Carolina – 1997) and Herschel Walker (RB, Georgia – 1980) have also been recognized during their first collegiate seasons.


Alabama has had at least one Walter Camp First Team All-American in each of the last five years. It is the longest current skein. The all-time streak record belongs to Notre Dame (18 straight years, 1964 to 1981).

More Alabama History

Since its first honoree in 1930 (OL Fred Sington), Alabama has had 52 Walter Camp First Team All-Americans. Starting in 1934, the Crimson Tide had two or more selections nine times, including four in 2009, 2011 and 2012. In addition to its four First Teamers, Alabama junior offensive lineman DJ Fluker earned Second Team All-America recognition in 2012.

Good to Be Back Barrett

Center Barrett Jones is Alabama’s fourth repeat Walter Camp All-American since 1960 – and the first since former Crimson Tide linebacker Cornelius Bennett (1985-86).

The Aggie Trio

Three players from Texas A&M earned First Team All-America honors – quarterback Johnny Manziel, offensive lineman Luke Joeckel and defensive lineman Devontre Moore. It is the most First Team selections for Texas A&M since it had two in 1995 (DB Ray Mickens and DL Brandon Mitchell).

FSU Squared

Two players from 2012 ACC champion Florida State – DL Bjoern Werner and PK Dustin Hopkins – earned First Team All-America honors. It is the eighth time – and first since 2000 – the Seminoles have had two First Team All-Americans.

JJ – Jarvis Jones

Junior linebacker Jarvis Jones is the third Georgia player to repeat as a Walter Camp First Team All-American. Jones joins former Bulldog greats – RB Herschel Walker (1980-81-82) and DB Terry Hoage (1982-83) – as multi-year Camp All-Americans.

Players of the Week

Each week during the regular-season, the Walter Camp Foundation recognizes a National Offensive and Defensive Player of the Week. Ten First and Second All-American members were recognized during the 2012 regular season.

First Team All-Americans recognized included: Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel (Oct. 14 and Nov. 11), Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones (Sept. 9 and Oct. 28), Alabama defensive back Dee Milliner (Sept. 2), Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o (Sept. 16), Oregon State defensive back Jordan Poyer (Oct. 7) and Oregon running back Kenjon Barner (Nov. 4).

Second Team honorees included: Nevada running back Stefphon Jefferson (Sept. 23), Rutgers linebacker Khaseem Greene (Oct. 14), LSU linebacker Kevin Minter (Oct. 21) and Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein (Oct. 21).

First Team “Firsts”

• Dri Archer is Kent State’s first Walter Camp First Team All-America selection.

• Arizona running back Ka’Deem Carey is the first Wildcat “offensive player” to earn Walter Camp All-America honors. The previous nine Arizona All-Americans were defensive players.

• Offensive lineman Jonathan Cooper is North Carolina’s first First Team All-American since 2001 when DE Julius Peppers was selected.

• Wisconsin running back Montee Ball is the first Badger running back to be recognized since 1999 – former Camp Player of the Year Ron Dayne (1998-99).

• Louisiana Tech punter Ryan Allen, a Second Team All-American last year, is the Bulldogs’ first First Teamer since 1998 (WR, Troy Edwards).