Walter Camp Football Foundation Hosts High School “Breakfast of Champions”; Ansonia Duo Win Awards

New Haven, Conn. – As part of its 47th annual Weekend festivities, the Walter Camp Football Foundation hosted a High School “Breakfast of Champions” at Anthony’s Ocean View in New Haven.  The seventh annual event was broadcast at  Ansonia High School, the Class S champion and state’s top-ranked team, was honored along with the three other state champions – Southington (Class LL), New Canaan (Class L) and St. Joseph (Class M).

2013 WCFF HS Breakfast of Champions Recap

The state Coach of the Year award, presented by Stadium System, was Tom Brockett of Ansonia.  Brockett led the Chargers to a perfect 15-0 record, the Class S state championship and the state’s number-one final ranking.

For the third straight year, Ansonia senior running Arkeel Newsome was named the Player of the Year. Newsome rushed for 3,867 rushing yards and 64 touchdowns in 15 games for the top-ranked Chargers.

In addition, members of the 2013 Walter Camp All-Connecticut Team, presented by Achieve Athletics, were recognized.  Here is the team:


QB: Stephen Barmore (Southington)

RB: Arkeel Newsome (Ansonia), Ervin Philips (West Haven)

WR: Alex Jamele (Southington), Nick Weissauer (Foran)

TE: Julian Dunn (Newtown)

OL: Ryan Hovan (Ansonia), John Tondalo (North Haven), Steve Hashemi (St. Joseph), Colin McKeown (Fairfield Warde), Ryan McKenna (New Canaan)


DL: Zach Maxwell (Southington), Connor Buck (New Canaan), Calvin Daniels (Bethel), Mark Evanchick (Darien)

LB: Ethan Suraci (North Haven), Cole Harris (New Canaan), Nick Crowle (Fairfield Prep)

DB: Lars Pedersen (St. Joseph), Dario Highsmith (Middletown), Jordan Kowalski (Ledyard), Harold Cooper (Hillhouse)


PK: Kyle Smick (Southington)

P: Daly Hebert (Darien)

KR: Jack Shaban (Joel Barlow)


The Lifetime Achievement Award, which is presented by NFP Sports, was presented to former New London head coach Jim Buonocore.  Buonocore won four state titles and totaled a 209-94-8 record as head coach.   Lastly, Walter Camp Weekend sponsor Generation UCAN presented the “UCAN Inspire Award,” to Westhill senior Evan Skoparantzos.

Ansonia, as the 2013 Kelly Award winner, will be recognized at the organization’s national awards banquet later this evening at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.  In addition, the Foundation will recognize the 2013 All-American Team and the 2013 Player of the Year, quarterback Jameis Winston of Florida State.  In addition, three individuals – former Notre Dame and Washington Redskins quarterback Joe Theismann (Distinguished American), former Penn State and Oakland Raider standout lineman Matt Millen (Man of the Year) and former North Carolina All-American Ken Huff (Alumnus of the Year) – will be honored with major awards.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side.  The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.