Walter Camp 2023 Player of Year Semifinalists Announced

The Walter Camp Football Foundation has announced the names of ten “semifinalists” for its 2023 Player of the Year award, the fourth-oldest college football award in the nation.

The semifinalist list includes four quarterbacks, two running backs, two wide receiver/tight ends and two defensive players.

USC quarterback Caleb Williams was the 2022 Walter Camp Player of Year. 

The Walter Camp Player of the Year is voted on by the 131 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors.

The three finalists will be announced on Tuesday, Nov. 28, and the 57th recipient of the Walter Camp Player of Year award will be announced on ESPN’s College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 7.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation ( – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team. 

The Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s website,

Walter Camp Player of Year Semifinalists

Brock Bowers, TE, Georgia

Blake Corum, RB, Michigan

Jayden Daniels, QB, LSU

Ollie Gordon II, RB, Oklahoma State

Marvin Harrison, Jr., WR, Ohio State

Laiatu Latu, DL, UCLA

Bo Nix, QB, Oregon

Michael Penix Jr., QB, Washington

T’Vondre Sweat, DL, Texas

Jordan Travis, QB, Florida State