UConn WR Noel Thomas Named Walter Camp 2016 Connecticut Player of the Year

University of Connecticut senior wide receiver Noel Thomas (Norwalk, CT) has been selected the Walter Camp 2016 Connecticut Player of the Year. The award is presented to the top college football player who is a resident and/or played scholastically in the state of Connecticut. The award is voted on by the Walter Camp Football Foundation membership.

2016 Walter Camp Connecticut Player of Year – Noel Thomas


Thomas is the fourth UConn player to earn the honor, and the first two-time recipient Dan Orlovsky (2003 and 2004).  Former Huskies Carl Bond (1998) and Glenn Antrum (1988) have also earned Connecticut Player of the Year honors.

A Second Team American Athletic Conference honoree in 2016, Thomas led UConn in receiving with a school record 100 receptions for 1,179 yards.  His 1,179 receiving yards was second-highest season total in school history. Thomas ranked fifth in the country in receptions per game at 8.3 and third in the American Athletic Conference. He is also 15th in the country receiving yards per game at 98.3.  Thomas has 100-yard receiving performances in seven games (including a period of six-straight) this season and eight in his career.

In addition to his AAC honors, Thomas was also named the winner of the 78th Annual George “Bulger” Lowe Award, known as “New England’s Heisman Trophy” and is one of the oldest college football awards in the country.

For his collegiate career, Thomas had 183 receptions, which is fourth-highest in school history, for 2,235 yards, which ranks eighth all-time.

A native of Norwalk, Thomas played scholastically for his father (Noel, Sr.) at St. Luke’s in New Canaan.  In his senior year, Thomas led the team to the NEPSAC Class C title and was named by MSG Varsity as its Connecticut Player of the Year.

Thomas, along with members of the 2016 Walter Camp All-America team, Player of the Year Lamar Jackson (Louisville), and other major award winners (Alumni Award-Orlando Pace; Man of the Year-Warrick Dunn; Distinguished American-Mike Ditka), will be honored at the organization’s national awards banquet, presented by KeyBank, on Saturday, January 14 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.  Visit www.waltercamp.org for more information.


Connecticut Player of the Year

Presented to the top college football player who is a resident and/or played scholastically in the state of Connecticut. The award is voted on by the Walter Camp Football Foundation membership.

2016 – Noel Thomas, WR, Connecticut

2015 – Tyler Matakevich, LB, Temple

2014 – Tyler Murphy, QB, Boston College

2013 – Kevin Pierre-Louis, LB, Boston College

2012 – Bjoern Werner, DE, Florida State

2011 – Silas Redd, RB, Penn State

2010 – John Moffitt, OL, Wisconsin

2009 – Aaron Hernandez, TE, Florida

2008 – Kory Sheets, RB, Purdue

2007 – Mike McLeod, RB, Yale

2006 – Kory Sheets, RB, Purdue

2005 – John Sullivan, C, Notre Dame

2004 – Anttaj Hawthorne, DT, Wisconsin; Dan Orlovsky, QB, Connecticut

2003 – Dan Orlovsky, QB, Connecticut

2002 – Niko Koutouvides, LB, Purdue

2001 – Dwight Freeney, DE, Syracuse

2000 – Peter Mazza, LB, Yale

1999 – Bobby Myers, DB, Wisconsin

1998 – Carl Bond, RB, Connecticut

1997 – Kyle McIntosh, RB, Syracuse

1996 – Tarek Salah, LB, Wisconsin

1995 – Tarek Salah, LB, Wisconsin

1994 – Jason Miska, LB, Auburn

1993 – Chris Zingo, LB, Cornell

1992 – Curtis Eller, LB, Villanova

1991 – Corey Vincent, DL, Holy Cross

1990 – Rob Thomson, DB, Syracuse

1989 – Terry Wooden, LB, Syracuse

1988 – Glenn Antrum, WR, Connecticut

1987 – Bill Romanowski, LB, Boston College

1986 – Richard Comizio, RB, Pennsylvania

1985 – Tom Patton, DE, Holy Cross

1984 – No recipient

1983 – Steve Young, QB, Brigham Young

1982 – Mike Marshall, DB, Southern Conn.

1981 – Richard Diana, RB, Yale