

For Immediate Release: December 16, 2016

Contact: Al Carbone (203) 671-4421 Follow us on Twitter @WalterCampFF

## UConn's Noel Thomas Named Walter Camp Connecticut Player of the Year

New Haven, CT – University of Connecticut senior wide receiver **Noel Thomas** (**Norwalk, CT**) has been selected the Walter Camp 2016 Connecticut Player of the Year.

The award is presented to the top college football player who is a resident and/or played scholastically in the state of Connecticut. The award is voted on by the Walter Camp Football Foundation membership.

Thomas is the fourth UConn player to earn the honor, and the first two-time recipient Dan Orlovsky (2003 and 2004). Former Huskies Carl Bond (1998) and Glenn Antrum (1988) have also earned Connecticut Player of the Year honors.

A Second Team American Athletic Conference honoree in 2016, Thomas led UConn in receiving with a school record 100 receptions for 1,179 yards. His 1,179 receiving yards was second-highest season total in school history. Thomas ranked fifth in the country in receptions per game at 8.3 and third in the American Athletic Conference. He is also 15th in the country receiving yards per game at 98.3. Thomas has 100-yard receiving performances in seven games (including a period of six-straight) this season and eight in his career.

In addition to his AAC honors, Thomas was also named the winner of the 78th Annual George "Bulger" Lowe Award, known as "New England's Heisman Trophy" and is one of the oldest college football awards in the country.

For his collegiate career, Thomas had 183 receptions, which is fourth-highest in school history, for 2,235 yards, which ranks eighth all-time.

A native of Norwalk, Thomas played scholastically for his father (Noel, Sr.) at St. Luke's in New Canaan. In his senior year, Thomas led the team to the NEPSAC Class C title and was named by MSG Varsity as its Connecticut Player of the Year.

Thomas, along with members of the 2016 Walter Camp All-America team, Player of the Year Lamar Jackson (Louisville), and other major award winners (Alumni Award-Orlando Pace; Man of the Year-Warrick Dunn; Distinguished American-Mike Ditka), will be honored at the organization's national awards banquet, presented by KeyBank, on Saturday, January 14 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New

Haven-based all-volunteer group — was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team. Visit www.waltercamp.org for more information.

## **Connecticut Player of the Year**

Presented to the top college football player who is a resident and/or played scholastically in the state of Connecticut. The award is voted on by the Walter Camp Football Foundation membership.

- 2016 Noel Thomas, WR, Connecticut
- 2015 Tyler Matakevich, LB, Temple
- 2014 Tyler Murphy, QB, Boston College
- 2013 Kevin Pierre-Louis, LB, Boston College
- 2012 Bjoern Werner, DE, Florida State
- 2011 Silas Redd, RB, Penn State
- 2010 John Moffitt, OL, Wisconsin
- 2009 Aaron Hernandez, TE, Florida
- 2008 Kory Sheets, RB, Purdue
- 2007 Mike McLeod, RB, Yale
- 2006 Kory Sheets, RB, Purdue
- 2005 John Sullivan, C, Notre Dame
- 2004 Anttaj Hawthorne, DT, Wisconsin; Dan Orlovsky, QB, Connecticut
- 2003 Dan Orlovsky, QB, Connecticut
- 2002 Niko Koutouvides, LB, Purdue
- 2001 Dwight Freeney, DE, Syracuse
- 2000 Peter Mazza, LB, Yale
- 1999 Bobby Myers, DB, Wisconsin
- 1998 Carl Bond, RB, Connecticut
- 1997 Kyle McIntosh, RB, Syracuse
- 1996 Tarek Salah, LB, Wisconsin
- 1995 Tarek Salah, LB, Wisconsin
- 1994 Jason Miska, LB, Auburn
- 1993 Chris Zingo, LB, Cornell
- 1992 Curtis Eller, LB, Villanova
- 1991 Corey Vincent, DL, Holy Cross
- 1990 Rob Thomson, DB, Syracuse
- 1989 Terry Wooden, LB, Syracuse
- 1988 Glenn Antrum, WR, Connecticut
- 1987 Bill Romanowski, LB, Boston College
- 1986 Richard Comizio, RB, Pennsylvania
- 1985 Tom Patton, DE, Holy Cross
- 1984 No recipient
- 1983 Steve Young, QB, Brigham Young
- 1982 Mike Marshall, DB, Southern Conn.
- 1981 Richard Diana, RB, Yale

www.waltercamp.org