2013 Football Championship Subdivision All-America Team Announced

NEW HAVEN, CT – Three-time selection Marcus Williams (North Dakota State) headlines Walter Camp’s 2013 Football Championship Subdivision All-America team.  The team was selected by the head coaches and sports information directors of the Football Championship Subdivision schools and certified by the accounting and auditing firm, Marcum LLP.

WCFF 2013 FCS All-America Team

A defensive back, Williams is just the fifth player to be a three-time Walter Camp All-America selection, joining former New Hampshire standouts, wide receiver David Ball (2004-2006), quarterback David Santos (2005-2007) and linebacker Matt Evans (2010-2012), and Appalachian State defensive back Mark Legree (2008-2010).

Williams and repeat All-Americans Davis Tull (Chattanooga) and Stephon Robertson (James Madisn) lead the defensive unit.  Williams has three interceptions on the season, while Tull, the Southern Conference Defensive Player of the Year, posted 15 tackles for loss and nine quarterback sacks.   Robertson registered 141 tackles and five sacks for the Dukes.

Defensive end Brad Daly (Montana), the 2013 Buck Buchanan Award winner (presently annually to the top defensive player in the FCS), led the nation with 14 sacks and 20.5 tackles for loss during the regular-season.

Three repeat All-Americans comprise the offensive unit, led by wide receiver Erik Lora (Eastern Illinois).  Lora caught 123 passes for 1,544 and 19 touchdowns, combining with All-American quarterback and EIU teammate Jimmy Garoppolo.  The 2013 Walter Payton Award recipient (FCS’ most outstanding player), Garoppolo led the FCS in passing yards (4,489), passing yards per game (374.1) and touchdown passes (48) on his way to Ohio Valley Conference Offensive Player of the Year honors.

In the backfield, junior Zach Zenner (South Dakota State) is a repeat All-American after rushing for 2,105 yards and 23 touchdowns. Joining Zenner in the backfield is junior Terrance West (Towson), who has rushed for a nation-leading 2,305 yards and 38 touchdowns for the Tigers.

Senior offensive tackle Billy Turner (North Dakota State) is a repeat All-American and anchors the offensive line.

In all, players from eight different conferences and 21 institutions are represented on the 2013 Walter Camp FCS All-America team.   The Big Sky Conference had the most selections with 5, while the Colonial Athletic Association and Missouri Valley Conference each had four honorees.  Four schools, including three of the 2013 FCS Playoff semifinalists (North Dakota State, Towson and Eastern Washington), had multiple honorees.  Eastern Illinois also had two selections.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American Football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting All-America teams for the Football Bowl and Championship subdivisions.

2013 Walter Camp Football Championship Subdivision All-America Team


Pos.  Name, School                                              Hgt      Wgt     Class   Hometown

WR  Erik Lora, Eastern Illinois #                         5-10     190      Sr.        Miami, FL

WR   Cooper Kupp, Eastern Washington             6-2       195      Fr.        Yakima, WA

TE    Andrew Robustelli, Jacksonville                 6-3       210      Jr.        Sarasota, FL

OL    Dakota Dozier, Furman                               6-5       303      Sr.        West Columbia, SC

OL    Eric Pike, Towson                                        6-5       298      Sr.        Landover, MD

OL    Billy Turner, North Dakota State #             6-6       314      Sr.        Shoreview, MN

OL    Danny Kistler, Jr., Montana                         6-8       315      Sr.        Seattle, WA

C      Ashton Miller, Eastern Washington             6-2       300      Sr.        Vancouver, WA

QB   Jimmy Garoppolo, Eastern Illinois               6-3       222      Sr.        Arlington Heights, IL

RB    Terrance West, Towson                               5-11     223      Jr.        Baltimore, MD

RB    Zach Zenner, South Dakota State #                        6-0       220      Jr.        Eagan, MN

PK    Griffin Thomas, Jacksonville State              6-0       198      Sr.        Snellville, GA


Pos.  Name, School                                              Hgt      Wgt     Class   Hometown

DL    Shaquille Riddick, Gardner-Webb              6-7       240      Jr.        Akron, OH

DL    Davis Tull, Chattanooga                              6-3       240      Jr.        Knoxville, TN

DL    Brad Daly, Montana State                           6-1       240      Sr.        Helena, MT

DL    Terrance Fede, Marist                                  6-5       270      Sr.        Nyack, NY

LB    Justin Shade, Samford                                 5-10     229      Sr.        Birmingham, AL

LB    Stephon Robertson, James Madison #         5-11     230      Sr.        Alexandria, VA

LB    Quinn Backus, Coastal Carolina                  5-10     215      Jr.        Greenwood, SC

DB   Jerome Couplin, William & Mary                6-2       215      Sr.        Upper Marlboro, MD

DB   Caleb Schaffitzel, Missouri State                6-0       214      Jr.        Fair Grove, MO

DB   Marcus Williams, North Dakota State *      5-11     192      Sr.        Minneapolis, MN

DB   Daniel Fitzpatrick, Tennessee State             6-2       210      Jr.        Fort Wayne, IN

P       Kyle Loomis, Portland State                       6-2       210      Jr.        Roseburg, OR

KR   Xavier Roberson, Southeastern Louisiana   5-9       170      Soph.   Atlanta, GA

* – 2011 and 2012 Walter Camp FCS All-America selection

# – 2012 Walter Camp All-America selection