High School “Breakfast of Champions” on January 12

Daniel Hand High School

All-Connecticut Team, Player of the Year and Coach of the Year will be announced.

As part of its 46th annual Weekend festivities, the Walter Camp Football Foundation will host a High School “Breakfast of Champions” on Saturday, January 12 at Anthony’s Ocean View in New Haven. The sixth annual event will begin at 9 a.m. and be broadcast live at www.sportingnewsct.com.

Daniel Hand School of Madison, the Class L champion and state’s top-ranked team, will be honored along with the three other state champions – Xavier (Class LL), Hillhouse (Class M) and Ansonia (Class S). In addition, the announcement of the 2012 Walter Camp All-Connecticut Team, presented by Achieve Athletics, will be made as will the presentations of four awards.

The state Coach of the Year award will be presented by Stadium System. The three finalists include: Tom Brockett (Ansonia), Tom Dyer (Hillhouse), and Steve Filippone (Daniel Hand).

The three finalists for the state Player of the Year include: Xavier senior quarterback Tim Boyle, Ansonia junior running back Arkeel Newsome and Daniel Hand senior linebacker/fullback Matt Walsh.

The Lifetime Achievement Award, which is presented by NFP Sports, will be presented to the family of the late Jack Hunt, the former head coach at Ansonia High School who won 88 percent of his games and seven state championships during his 19 seasons (193-26 record).

Lastly, Walter Camp Weekend sponsor Generation UCAN will present the “UCAN Inspire Award,” to a high school football student-athlete.

Later that evening, Daniel Hand will be honored with the Kelly Award (state’s top high school team) at the Foundation’s national awards banquet at the Yale University Commons in New Haven. The 2012 Walter Camp All-America Team, Player of the Year Manti Te’o (Notre Dame), Coach of the Year Brian Kelly (Notre Dame), and Connecticut Player of the Year Bjoern Werner (Florida State/Salisbury School) will also be recognized.

In addition, the Foundation will honor three individuals – former Nebraska head coach and Athletic director Tom Osborne, former NFL player and coach Herm Edwards and NFL All-Pro Derrick Brooks – with major awards.