Walter Camp All-Connecticut Teams Announced; 14th Annual Breakfast of Champions is January 8

The Walter Camp Football Foundation will host its 14th High School “Breakfast of Champions,” on Saturday, January 8 at The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale. The event starts at 8:30 a.m. 

Tickets are $50 if purchased online ( or $60 if purchased by cash/check on the day of the event.

The four Connecticut high school 2021 state champions – Darien (Class LL), Maloney of Meriden (Class L), Killingly (Class M) and Cromwell/Portland co-op (Class S) – will be recognized.    

Darien, which finished as the number-one team in the state’s final polls, will be recognized as the Joseph W. Kelly Award winner.

The finalists for the 2021 Coach of the Year, presented by Stadium System, are Randell Bennett (Cromwell/Portland co-op), Mike Forget (Darien) and Kevin Frederick (Maloney)

The three finalists for the 2021 Player of the Year are Camryn Edwards (Norwalk), Victor Rosa (Bristol Central) and Theodore Williams (Cromwell/Portland co-op).

In addition, members of the 2021Walter Camp All-Connecticut Teams (1st and 2nd) will be recognized.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

NOTE:  The Walter Camp All-Connecticut Team is voted on by a Selection Committee, which is comprised of 10 high school head coaches that represent nine conferences around the state.

First Team Walter Camp All-Connecticut – 2021


QB: Victor Rosa (Bristol Central)

RB: Tighe Commiskey (Darien), Camryn Edwards (Norwalk)

WR: Nicholas Saccu (Masuk), Corbin Smith (Trumbull)

TE: Theodore Williams (Cromwell/Portland co-op)

OL: Ned Brady (New Canaan), Daniel Lauretti (Bristol Central), Kyshawn Togba (West Haven), Matthew Weiner (Shelton), Travis Wright (Maloney)


LB: Owen Brunk (Cromwell/Portland co-op), Ryan O’Connell (Fairfield Prep), Antwone Santiago (Platt)

DB: Jack Coughlin (Amity Regional), Ian Graham (Maloney), Tymaine Smith (Fairfield Prep), Parker Woodring (Wilton)

DL: Terrence Allen (Killingly), David Evanchick (Darien), Austin Pszczolkowski (Southington), Prince Samuels (Windsor)

Special Teams

PK:  Christiano Rosa (Shelton)

P: Jack Barnum (Southington)

Returner: Logan Galletta (Greenwich)

Second Team Walter Camp All-Connecticut – 2021


QB: Andrew Nye (Morgan)

RB: Ethan O’Brien (Daniel Hand), Jack Sharpe (Killingly)

WR: Seth Sweitzer (Daniel Hand), Maxwell Warren (St. Joseph)

TE: Ben Carley (Trumbull)

OL:  Johnni Bassani (New Fairfield), Jake Delfino (Trumbull), Joseph Hawkins (West Haven), Jake Kiernan (Greenwich), Michael Sinisi (Greenwich)


LB: Tayshawn Dixon (Notre Dame-Fairfield), Mark McLaughlin (Stafford/East Windsor/Somers co-op), Zachary Truting (Simsbury)

DB: Christian Alliegro (Darien), Mathyas Nieves (Wethersfield), Mysonne Pollard (Norwalk), Camyran Winder (Hamden)

DL: Jack Mullen (Fairfield Prep), Cole Murphy (Darien), Rakaigh Pettway (Notre Dame-Fairfield), Henry Tyus (Rockville)

Special Teams

PK: Tyler Groff (New Canaan)

P: Michael Cooper (Wilton)

Returner: Matthew Minicus (Darien)