Walter Camp 2022 Player of Year Semifinalists Announced

The Walter Camp Football Foundation has announced the names of twenty two “Players to Watch” for its 2022 Player of the Year award, the fourth-oldest college football award in the nation.

The 22-player watch list includes nine quarterbacks, five running backs, four wide receiver/tight ends and three defensive players. Sixteen different schools and seven conferences (including independents) are represented on the list.

Former Michigan State running back Kenneth Walker III, who is a member of the Seattle Seahawks, was the 2021 Walter Camp Player of Year.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year is voted on by the 131 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors.  

A list of five finalists will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 30, and the winner announced on ESPN’s College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 8.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation ( – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.  The Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s website,

Walter Camp Player of Year Semifinalists

Israel Abanikanda, Pittsburgh, RB

Will Anderson Jr., Alabama, LB

Stetson Bennett IV, Georgia, QB

Brock Bowers, Georgia, TE

Chase Brown, Illinois, RB

Zach Charbonnet, UCLA, RB

Blake Corum, Michigan, RB

Jayden Daniels, LSU, QB

Max Duggan, TCU, QB

Marvin Harrison Jr, Ohio State, WR

Hendon Hooker, Tennessee, QB

Jalin Hyatt, Tennessee, WR

Drake Maye, North Carolina, QB

Michael Mayer, Notre Dame, TE

Bo Nix, Oregon, QB

Michael Penix Jr., Washington, QB

Bijan Robinson, Texas, RB

Noah Sewell, Oregon, LB

CJ Stroud, Ohio State, QB

Tuli Tuipulotu, USC, DL

Caleb Williams, USC, QB

Bryce Young, Alabama, QB