University of Oklahoma Quarterback Baker Mayfield is the 2017 Walter Camp Player of the Year

University of Oklahoma redshirt senior quarterback Baker Mayfield (Austin, TX) has been selected as the 2017 Walter Camp Player of the Year.   The Walter Camp Player of the Year is voted on by the nation’s 130 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors.

2017 Walter Camp Player of the Year – Baker Mayfield-FINAL

Other finalists for the 2017 Walter Camp Player of the Year award included quarterback Lamar Jackson (Louisville) and running backs Saquon Barkley (Penn State), Bryce Love (Stanford) and Rashaad Penny (San Diego State).

The 51st recipient of the Walter Camp Player of the Year award, Mayfield is the fourth Sooner player to win the prestigious honor, joining quarterback Josh Heupel (2000) and running backs Billy Sims (1978) and Steve Owens (1969).  Overall, Mayfield is the 19th quarterback to earn the award.  Mayfield is also eighth player from a current Big 12 Conference school to win the award, and the first since 2009 (Colt McCoy, Texas).

Mayfield has been a standout for the Big 12-champion and second-ranked Sooners (12-1), who will face #3 Georgia in the semifinals of the College Football Playoffs on January 1 at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, CA.

The 2017 Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year, Mayfield leads the nation in passing efficiency (203.8), while ranking second in passing yards (4,340) and passing touchdowns (41).  Mayfield has completed 71 percent of his passes (262-of-369) and has thrown just five interceptions in 13 games.

He has thrown for 300 or more yards nine times, including a career-best 598 (24-of-36, 5 touchdowns) in a win against Oklahoma State on Nov. 4 that earned him Walter Camp National Offensive Player of the Week honors.   On Dec. 2, Mayfield led the Sooners to the 2017 Big 12 title, passing for 243 yards and four touchdowns in a 41-17 victory over TCU.

Mayfield has thrown at least two touchdown passes in 26 consecutive games.  A two-year captain, Mayfield, who played the 2013 season at Texas Tech, is the only player in Football Bowl Subdivision history to pass for at least 13,500 yards (14,320) and rush for at least 1,000 yards (1,082).   He ranks second in school history in passing yards (12,005) and touchdowns passes (117).

Mayfield, along with members of the 2017 Walter Camp All-America team, and other major award winners (Alumni Award-Eddie George; Man of the Year-Calvin Johnson; Distinguished American-Lee Corso), will be honored at the organization’s national awards banquet, presented by David McDermott Lexus of New Haven, on Saturday, January 13, 2018 at Yale University’s Lanman Center in New Haven.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients.

Walter Camp Players of the Year

2017 – Baker Mayfield, QB, Oklahoma

2016 – Lamar Jackson, QB, Louisville

2015 – Derrick Henry, RB, Alabama

2014 – Marcus Mariota, QB, Oregon

2013 – Jameis Winston, QB, Florida State

2012 – Manti Te’o, LB, Notre Dame

2011 – Andrew Luck, QB, Stanford

2010 – Cam Newton, QB, Auburn

2009 – Colt McCoy, QB, Texas

2008 – Colt McCoy, QB, Texas

2007 – Darren McFadden, RB, Arkansas

2006 – Troy Smith, QB, Ohio State

2005 – Reggie Bush, RB, USC

2004 – Matt Leinart, QB, USC

2003 – Larry Fitzgerald, WR, Pittsburgh

2002 – Larry Johnson, RB, Penn State

2001 – Eric Crouch, QB, Nebraska

2000 – Josh Heupel, QB, Oklahoma

1999 – Ron Dayne, RB, Wisconsin

1998 – Ricky Williams, RB, Texas

1997 – Charles Woodson, DB, Michigan

1996 – Danny Wuerffel, QB, Florida

1995 – Eddie George, RB, Ohio State

1994 – Rashaan Salaam, RB, Colorado

1993 – Charlie Ward, QB, Florida State

1992 – Gino Torretta, QB, Miami

1991 – Desmond Howard, WR, Michigan

1990 – Raghib Ismail, WR, Notre Dame

1989 – Anthony Thompson, RB, Indiana

1988 – Barry Sanders, RB, Oklahoma State

1987 – Tim Brown, WR, Notre Dame

1986 – Vinny Testaverde, QB, Miami

1985 – Bo Jackson, RB, Auburn

1984 – Doug Flutie, QB, Boston College

1983 – Mike Rozier, RB, Nebraska

1982 – Herschel Walker, RB, Georgia

1981 – Marcus Allen, RB, USC

1980 – Hugh Green, DE, Pittsburgh

1979 – Charles White, RB, USC

1978 – Billy Sims, RB, Oklahoma

1977 – Ken MacAfee, TE, Notre Dame

1976 – Tony Dorsett, RB, Pittsburgh

1975 – Archie Griffin, RB, Ohio State

1974 – Archie Griffin, RB, Ohio State

1973 – John Cappelletti, RB, Penn State

1972 – Johnny Rodgers, RB, Nebraska

1971 – Pat Sullivan, QB, Auburn

1970 – Jim Plunkett, QB, Stanford

1969 – Steve Owens, RB, Oklahoma

1968 – O.J. Simpson, RB, USC

1967 – O.J. Simpson, RB, USC