Titans QB Marcus Mariota and Eagles LB Jordan Hicks Named Walter Camp All-America Alumni NFL Players of the Week

The Walter Camp Football Foundation has announced its All-America Alumni NFL Offensive and Defensive Players of the week for games ending November 9.

Alumni POW 11-10

About the Award: The Walter Camp Foundation has more than 300 of its All-American alumni currently on NFL rosters. The Foundation’s All-America teams date back to 1889, and the Foundation has also selected a Second Team since 1998.   Each week during the NFL regular-season, the Walter Camp Foundation will recognize one offensive and one defensive player as its Alumni Players of the Week.



MARCUS MARIOTA, Quarterback, Tennessee Titans

Marcus Mariota completed 28-of-39 passes for 371 yards and four touchdowns as the Tennessee Titans defeated the New Orleans Saints, 34-28, in overtime. A collegiate standout at Oregon, Mariota earned Walter Camp First Team All-America honors in 2014 and earned Player of the Year honors.




JORDAN HICKS, Inside Linebacker, Philadelphia Eagles

Jordan Hicks had seven tackles and one interception which he returned 67 yards for a touchdown as the Philadelphia Eagles defeated the Dallas Cowboys, 33-27, in overtime. It is the second time Hicks has earned the honor (Sept. 29). A standout at the University of Texas, Hicks earned Walter Camp Second Team All-America honors in 2014.


Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation (www.waltercamp.org, @WalterCampFF) – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team. The Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s website, www.ncfaa.org


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *