Foundation Hosts High School Breakfast of Champions

All-Connecticut Team, Player of the Year and Coach of the Year announced.

New Haven, Conn. – As part of its 46th annual Weekend festivities, the Walter Camp Football Foundation hosted a High School “Breakfast of Champions” this morning at Anthony’s Ocean View in New Haven.  The event was broadcast on  Daniel Hand High School of Madison, the Class L champion and state’s top-ranked team with a perfect 13-0 record, was honored along with the three other state champions – Xavier (Class LL, 12-1 overall record), Hillhouse (Class M, 11-2 overall record) and Ansonia (Class S, 14-0 overall record).

The state’s Coach of the Year award, presented by Stadium System, was shared by two coaches from the Southern Connecticut Conference whose teams won state titles in 2012 — Steve Filippone (Daniel Hand) and Tom Dyer (Hillhouse).  The other finalist was Tom Brockett (Ansonia).

The state Player of the Year was awarded, for the second straight season, to Ansonia junior running back Arkeel Newsome.   Newsome rushed for 2,245 yards and 38 touchdowns for the Class L state champion Panthers.   Other finalists included: Xavier senior quarterback Tim Boyle and Daniel Hand senior linebacker Matt Walsh.

The Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by NFP Sports, was presented to the family of the late Jack Hunt, former head coach at Ansonia High School who won seven state titles during his 19 seasons (193-26 record).

Walter Camp Weekend sponsor Generation UCAN presented the “UCAN Inspire Award,” to senior linebacker/offensive tackle George Knoth (Jonathan Law). This season, George and his teammates raised awareness for autism by wearing a blue puzzle piece decal on their helmets; in particular for George’s two younger brothers who are autistic.

In addition, the announcement of the 2012 Walter Camp All-Connecticut Team, presented by Achieve Athletics, was made.



QB: Tim Boyle (Xavier)

RB: Arkeel Newsome (Ansonia), Harold Cooper (Hillhouse)

WR/TE: Andrew Matos (Ansonia), Kris Luster (Xavier)

TE: Andrew Isaacs (Manchester)

OL: Hector Rodriguez (Berlin), Jacob Basilica (Montville), Kyle Vaughn (Staples), Michael LaSala (Wilton), Max Schumann (Xavier)


LB: Mike Jones (Capital Prep), Matt Walsh (Daniel Hand), Marquis Little (Manchester), Max Tylki (Xavier)

DB: Andre Anderson (Hillhouse), Joey Paparelli (Norwich Free Academy), Justin Potts (Platt), James Frusciante (Staples)

DL: Peter Gerson (Daniel Hand), Kyle Wilson (Ledyard), Tuzar Skipper (Norwich Free Academy), Cole Ormsby (Windsor)


Kicker: Ed Groth (Shelton)

Punter:  Michael Nichol (Wolcott)

Returner:  Thomas Milone (Masuk)


This evening, the Foundation will host its national awards banquet, which is sold out, at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.  The banquet, which will be broadcast on ESPN3, will honor the members of the 2012 Walter Camp All-America Team.  Player of the Year Manti Te’o (Notre Dame), Coach of the Year Brian Kelly (Notre Dame), and Connecticut Player of the Year Bjoern Werner (Florida State/Salisbury School) will also be recognized. In addition, the Foundation will honor three individuals – former Nebraska head coach and Athletic director Tom Osborne, former NFL player and coach Herm Edwards and NFL All-Pro Derrick Brooks – with major awards. The master of ceremonies is ESPN SportsCenter anchor John Anderson.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side.  The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

Walter Camp Foundation Hosts Breakfast of Champions 2013