1974 All-American Ken Huff Named Walter Camp Alumni Award Recipient

NEW HAVEN, CT – 1974 All-American offensive guard Ken Huff (University of North Carolina) is the recipient of the 2013 Walter Camp “Alumni Award.”  Huff joins a distinguished list of former “Alumni Award” winners, including Alan Page (Notre Dame), Bo Jackson (Auburn), Tony Dorsett (Pittsburgh), Herschel Walker (Georgia), Mark May (Pittsburgh) and last year’s recipient, Derrick Brooks (Florida State).

WCFF Alumni Huff 2013

The Walter Camp “Alumni of the Year” award is bestowed on a worthy individual who has distinguished himself in the pursuit of excellence as an athlete, in his personal career and in doing good works for others.  He must be an individual who has exhibited dedication and good moral conduct in achieving success. He must be a compassionate and unselfish person who contributes his time and assistance in helping to encourage and comfort fellow human beings less talented and less fortunate than himself.  He must be an individual who takes pride in having been a Walter Camp All-American.

“We are pleased to recognize Ken Huff with the Walter Camp Alumni Award,” Foundation president James Monico said. “A former All-American, Ken has been a terrific ambassador of the Foundation and the good work we try to achieve.”

Raised in California, Huff played scholastically at Coronado High School and Deerfield (Mass.) Academy.   Heavily recruited, he attended the University of North Carolina and was a three-year starter at offensive guard for the Tar Heels.  He helped UNC capture the 1972 Atlantic Coast Conference title and a berth in the Sun Bowl.   In his senior year in 1974, he anchored an offensive line that opened holes for two 1,000 yard rushers and the team earned another berth to the Sun Bowl. For his efforts, Huff earned consensus All-American honors, including a spot on the Walter Camp team, and won the Jacobs Trophy as the ACC’s best blocker.  He also finished as the runner-up for the Outland Trophy and participated in both the Hula Bowl and Senior Bowl.

Huff was the third overall pick in the 1975 NFL Draft by the Baltimore Colts.   He played eight seasons for the Colts before being traded to the Washington Redskins, where he became a member of the famed “Hogs” offensive line.  He played in Super Bowl XVIII for the Redskins.  He retired in 1986 after 11 seasons and 145 career games.

In 2008, Huff was inducted into the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame and his number 68 also hangs in UNC’s Honored Jersey section of Kenan Stadium.

Active in several charities in the state of North Carolina, Huff is the owner of Ken Huff Builders, Inc. and has two children, Katie and Matthew.

In addition to Huff, the Foundation will honor Joe Theismann (Distinguished American), Matt Millen (Man of the Year) and the 124th annual All-America team at the organization’s national awards banquet on Saturday, January 11, 2014, at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

The Foundation is offering a “Holiday Ticket Promotion” for the National Awards Dinner. Buy two tickets for $450 (you save $150) before December 31.  Please call (203) 288-CAMP (288-2267) for more information.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American Football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.


Walter Camp Alumni Award Recipients

2013 – Ken Huff, North Carolina

2012 – Derrick Brooks, Florida State

2011 – Chris Spielman, Ohio State

2010 – Tedy Bruschi, Arizona

2009 – David Fulcher, Arizona State

2008 – Tim Brown, Notre Dame

2007 – Ray Guy, Southern Mississippi

2006 – Mike Rozier, Nebraska

2005 – Cornelius Bennett, Alabama

2004 – George Rogers, South Carolina

2003 – Mark May, Pittsburgh

2002 – Dave Casper, Notre Dame

2001 – Herschel Walker, Georgia

2000 – Don McPherson, Syracuse

1999 – Bo Jackson, Auburn

1998 – Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh

1997 – Jim Plunkett, Stanford

1996 – Lee Roy Selmon, Oklahoma

1995 – Jim Covert, Pittsburgh

1994 – Ed Marinaro, Cornell

1993 – Archie Griffin, Ohio State

1992 – Kellen Winslow, Missouri

1991 – Steve Owens, Oklahoma

1990 – Thomas L. Jackson, Louisville

1989 – Dr. Tom Casanova, Louisiana State

1988 – Alan Page, Notre Dame

1987 – Mike Reid, Penn State

1986 – Joe Greene, North Texas