2022 Ring of Honor Golf Classic – Thank You

The Walter Camp Football Foundation Ring of Honor Golf Classic was held on Monday, June 13th at Race Brook CC in Orange. Prior to tee off, WCFF President, Tony Mortali presented a check to Special Olympics Connecticut in support of the many programs and services provided year-round to individuals with intellectual disabilities. Accepting on behalf of SOCT is Katie Dennett, Director, Partnerships & Corporate Relations

Proceeds from the Ring of Honor Golf Classic support the WCFF’s philanthropic goals. The Foundation provides financial, and manpower support to worthy adult-oriented and youth-focused educational organizations, which have collectively become known as “The Walter Camp Charities.”

June 13, 2022

Race Brook Country Club

3 – Walter Camp Players of the Year,
3 – Heisman Trophy winners,
2 – NFL Hall of Famers,
1 – NBA Hall of Fame member,
1 – current NHL star just to name a few!

A sold-out field of 36 foursomes had an experience of a lifetime at the 2022 Walter Camp Football Foundation’s Ring of Honor Golf Classic, Monday June 13 th at Race Brook CC in Orange, CT. Each foursome played at least nine holes with a “Special Guest”.

The Ring of Honor welcomed Archie Griffin and Ty Law, who were officially inducted on Sunday evening June 12 th at a ceremony and reception on the Rooftop at Goodfellas – New Haven. There were approximately 100 guests attending this exclusive event held in conjunction with the next day’s Golf Classic. The Weekend Presenting Sponsor was Seamless Health GA. The Induction Ceremony & Reception was sponsored by The New England Patriots Foundation, The Ohio State University, and the University of Michigan.

The Foundation and its new President, Anthony Mortali, hosted some of the greats of professional sports. In addition to Griffin and Law, the celebrities joining the golfing foursomes included former Patriots running back, Kevin Faulk, NFL Hall of Famer, Will Shields, Heisman winners Griffin (1974, 1975) Mike Rozier – Nebraska (1983), George Rogers- South Carolina (1980). Griffin, Rozier, and Hugh Green – Pittsburgh (1980) were Walter Camp Players of the Year. ESPN Personality, John Anderson, former Nebraska QB Tommie Frazier, Cornell and Minnesota Vikings running back, turned actor, Ed Marinaro (Hill St. Blues, Laverne & Shirley, Sisters, Blue Mountain State, Dallas Cowboys Flozell Adams, NBA Hall of Famer, CT native Calvin Murphy, current NHL star, Tage Thompson – Buffalo Sabres, former UCONN/NFL tight end, Sean Mulcahy, SCSU all-time leading receiver, Chris Ortiz, New England Patriots Irving Fryar, CT native NiKo Koutouvides, NFL Alumni Representative for CT, and current WCFF Alumni President, Ken Huff – a former member of the Washington Redskins famed “HOGS” offensive line.

The Foundation made a special check presentation to Special Olympics Connecticut prior to teeing off.

Next year’s Induction Ceremony/Golf Classic is scheduled for June 11-12, 2023.

Thank you to our Sponsors!