

2018 Walter Camp All-America Notebook

A Little History

This is the 129th edition of the Walter Camp All-America team – the nation's oldest All-America team. Twenty-five players have been selected to the first team by the 130 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors. In addition, 25 players were selected to the Second Team.

- From 1889 to 1964, eleven players were selected.
- In 1965, both offensive and defensive teams were picked.
- In 1972, the first punter (Ray Guy, Southern Mississippi) was honored.
- In 1975, the first placekicker (Chris Bahr, Penn State) was selected.
- In 1998, the first-ever Second Team All-America team was recognized.
- In 2001, the first kick returner (Herb Haygood, Michigan State) was picked.

Conference Info

In all, 29 different schools from 10 conferences (including independents) were represented on the All-America First and Second Teams (a total of 50 players selected). Alabama has four First Team honorees, and two on the Second Team. LSU has four All-Americans (3 First Team, 1 Second Team), while three Clemson players were named to the First Team. Overall, the Southeastern Conference had the most honorees (15), followed by the Atlantic Coast Conference (9) and Big Ten (8).

Then and Now

Sixteen different schools are represented on the 2018 Walter Camp All-America First Team. Of the 16 schools, Michigan has the most storied tradition of placing members on the team. The Wolverines had their first selection in 1903, halfback William Heston. This year, Michigan has one First Team selection (LB Devin Bush). Since 1903, Michigan has had 78 Walter Camp All-Americans.

Class Distinction

Of the 25 First Team selections, eight are seniors. There are nine juniors, seven sophomores and one freshman. On the Second Team (25 total selections), there are nine seniors, 10 juniors, five sophomores and one freshman.

Player of the Year Tua Tagovailoa

The 52nd recipient of the Walter Camp Player of the Year award, Tua Tagovailoa is the second Crimson Tide player to win the prestigious honor, joining running back Derrick Henry (2015). Overall, Tagovailoa is the 20th quarterback to earn the award. Tagovailoa is also the eighth player from a SEC school to win the award. A dynamic dual-threat quarterback, Tagovailoa has thrown for 3,353 yards and a school-record 37 touchdowns with just four interceptions on 199-of-294 passing (67.7 percent)

this season. He has also rushed for five touchdowns. Tagovailoa ranks second in the nation in passer efficiency rating (202.3) and he guides the nation's No. 2 scoring offense at 47.9 points per game.

<u>Good to See You Again – All-American Notables</u>

- One player defensive end Ed Oliver (Houston) is a repeat First Team All-American.
- Four players earned First Team honors in 2018 after being selected to the Second Team a year ago running back Jonathan Taylor (Wisconsin), offensive lineman Mitch Hyatt (Clemson), linebacker Devin Bush (Michigan) and defensive tackle Christian Wilkins (Clemson).
- Second Team honoree Sutton Smith (Northern Illinois) was a First Team selection in 2017.
- Second Team wide receiver David Sills (West Virginia) was a Second Team selection a year ago.

Three Times a Charm

After earning Second Team All-America honors the last two seasons, Clemson defensive tackle Christian Wilkins is a First Team selection in 2018. In addition, Utah punter Mitch Wishnowsky is a three-time Camp honoree (2016-First Team; 2017 and 2018-Second Team).

Streaking

Alabama has had at least one Walter Camp First Team All-American in each of the last eight years. It is the longest current streak. The all-time record belongs to Notre Dame (18 straight years, 1964 to 1981).

Center of Attention

For the fourth straight year, an Ohio State center is a Walter Camp All-American. Michael Jordan earned Second Team honors this season, following in the footsteps of former All-American Buckeyes: Taylor Decker, 2015; Pat Elfein, 2016; and Billy Price, 2017.

Sweet Home Alabama

Alabama has four First Team All-America honorees. It is the fourth time in the last 10 years that the Crimson Tide had four First Team All-Americans (2012, 2011 and 2009). The record for most first team All-Americans is five, held by Oklahoma in 2003.

Purple and Orange

Clemson and LSU each have three First Team All-Americans – the most for both schools. LSU had two honorees three other times (2011, 2007 and 1997). Clemson had two First Team selections once, back in 1991 (OL, Jeb Flesch, and LB Levon Kirkland).

Walter Camp Weekend is Jan. 10-12

The 2018 Walter Camp All-America team will be honored at the organization's 52nd annual national awards banquet, presented by David McDermott Lexus of New Haven, on Saturday, January 12, 2019 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven, CT. Major award winners (Distinguished American-Archie Manning, Man of the Year-Mike Golic, and Perseverance Award-Jake Olson of USC) will also be honored that evening.

www.waltercamp.org