

For Immediate Release: November 9, 2018

Contact: Al Carbone (203) 671-4421 Follow us on Twitter @WalterCampFF

## Former Notre Dame Standout and Media Personality Mike Golic Named Walter Camp Man of the Year Recipient

**NEW HAVEN, CT** – Former University of Notre Dame standout and current award-winning media personality **Mike Golic** is the recipient of the Walter Camp Football Foundation's 2018 "Man of the Year" award.

The Walter Camp "Man of the Year" award honors an individual who has been closely associated with the game of football as a player, coach or close attendant to the game. He must have attained a measure of success and been a leader in his chosen profession. He must have contributed to the public service for the benefit of his community, country and his fellow man. He must have an impeccable reputation for integrity and must be dedicated to our American Heritage and the philosophy of Walter Camp.

Golic joins a distinguished list of former "Man of the Year" winners, including Roger Staubach (Navy), Gale Sayers (Kansas), Dick Butkus (Illinois), John Elway (Stanford), Jerome Bettis (Notre Dame), and last year's recipient Calvin Johnson (Georgia Tech).

"We are thrilled to have Mike Golic as our Man of the Year," Foundation President Mike Madera said. "Not only has Mike had great success on the football field and in the broadcast booth, but he is a champion off the field as well. His work in the community is well-documented. We feel Mike is a great representation of what the Foundation stands for."

A native of Willowick, Ohio, Golic graduated from the University of Notre Dame in 1985 as a finance and management major. He served as captain of the football team during his senior season and also wrestled for the Irish.

Golic was drafted by the Houston Oilers selected in the 10th round with the 255th overall pick in the 1985 NFL Draft. He was a nine-year NFL veteran, playing defensive tackle for the Houston Oilers, Philadelphia Eagles and Miami Dolphins.

Golic is the co-host of ESPN Radio's weekday morning drive show, *Golic and Wingo*, alongside Trey Wingo and Mike Golic Jr. Golic formerly co-hosted the long-running *Mike & Mike*, on which he partnered with Mike Greenberg for nearly 18 years. He is also a member of the National Association of Broadcasters Broadcasting Hall of Fame, as part of the 2016 class with his *Mike & Mike* co-host, Greenberg.

Golic joined ESPN in 1995 as an NFL studio analyst and was also a color commentator for the Arena Football League and ESPN/ABC college football games.

During his seven years with the Philadelphia Eagles, Golic began his television career with a weekly segment on the *Randall Cunningham Show*. He received a Mid-Atlantic Region Emmy Award for his feature "Golic's Got It."

In addition to his public successes, Mike is active helping others. He is a board member for Hannah & Friends, an organization dedicated to improving the quality of life for children and adults with special needs. Golic is also an active fundraiser for the V Foundation for cancer research. In 2014, he was the spokesman for the St. Jude Campaign, and remains a supporter for the Northern Indiana Food Bank and Center for the Homeless in South Bend, Indiana.

Golic, along with the 129<sup>th</sup> annual Walter Camp All-America team and other award winners, will be honored at the organization's 52<sup>nd</sup> national awards banquet on Saturday, January 12, 2019, at Yale University's Lanman Center in New Haven. For more information, visit www.waltercamp.org

Walter Camp, "The Father of American Football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

## Walter Camp Man of the Year Recipients

- 2018 Mike Golic, Notre Dame
- 2017 Calvin Johnson, Georgia Tech
- 2016 Warrick Dunn, Florida State
- 2015 Fred Biletnikoff, Florida State; Joe Andruzzi, Southern Connecticut State University
- 2014 Jerome Bettis, Notre Dame
- 2013 Matt Millen, Penn State
- 2012 Herm Edwards, San Diego State
- 2011 Harry Carson, South Carolina State
- 2010 Will Shields, Nebraska
- 2009 John Elway, Stanford
- 2008 Morten Andersen, Michigan State
- 2007 Dick Butkus, University of Illinois
- 2006 Mike Utley, Washington State
- 2005 Dwight Stephenson, Alabama
- 2004 Anthony Munoz, Southern California
- 2003 Ozzie Newsome, Alabama
- 2002 Jim Kelly, Miami (Fla.)
- 2001 Mike Singletary, Baylor
- 2000 Howie Long, Villanova
- 1999 Gil Brandt, Dallas Cowboys
- 1998 Lou Holtz, Kent State University
- 1997 Calvin Hill, Yale
- 1996 Lynn Swann, Southern California
- 1995 Reggie Williams, Dartmouth
- 1994 Dick Anderson, Colorado
- 1993 Warren Moon, Washington
- 1992 Bob Griese, Purdue
- 1991 Mel Blount, Southern
- 1990 Nick Buoniconti, Notre Dame

- 1989 Paul Brown, Miami (Ohio)
- 1988 Andy Robustelli, Arnold
- 1987 Levi Jackson, Yale
- 1986 Willie Davis, Grambling
- 1985 Ricky Bleier, Notre Dame
- 1984 Don Shula, John Carroll
- 1983 Roger Staubach, Navy
- 1982 Merlin Olsen, Utah State
- 1981 Otto Graham, Northwestern
- 1980 Gale Sayers, Kansas
- 1979 Jack Kemp, Occidental
- 1978 Floyd Little, Syracuse
- 1977 Fred Dunlap, Colgate
- 1976 Edward Krause, Notre Dame
- 1975 Pete Dawkins, Army
- 1974 Jake Gaither, Knoxville College/Florida A&M
- 1973 Duffy Daugherty, Syracuse/Michigan State
- 1972 Clinton Frank, Yale
- 1971 Doc Blanchard, Army
- 1970 Harry Kipke, Michigan
- 1969 Pete Rozelle, San Francisco
- 1968 Ted Blair, Yale
- 1967 Hamilton Fish, Harvard

www.waltercamp.org