

For Immediate Release: December 27, 2013

Contact: Al Carbone (203) 671-4421 Follow us on Twitter @WalterCampFF

## Ansonia High School to Receive Walter Camp's 2013 "Joseph W. Kelly" Award

**New Haven, CT** – The Ansonia Chargers, the No. 1 team in the state's high school football season-ending polls, is the Walter Camp Football Foundation's choice to receive the Joseph W. Kelly Award, which is awarded annually to Connecticut's top high school football team.

It is the fifth time that Ansonia has earned the Kelly Award, moving past Cheshire for the most in state history. Ansonia's #1 ranking and Kelly Award recognition in 2013 also snapped a four-year run of honorees from the Southern Connecticut Conference.

"With its potent offensive rushing attack, Ansonia was outstanding on its way to winning the NVL and Class S state titles," said Walter Camp Football Foundation President James Monico. "We salute Coach Tom Brockett, his staff and players on a phenomenal season."

Ansonia became the first team in state history to go 15-0 behind the exploits of two-time Walter Camp High School State Player of the Year Arkeel Newsome (3,867 rushing yards and 64 touchdowns). The Chargers won the Naugatuck Valley League title with a 48-7 victory over Woodland on November 20, and followed it up with their third straight Class S state championship.

In the quarterfinals, Ansonia defeated Coginchaug, 49-21, and then defeated Rocky Hill, 49-27, in the semifinals. In the Class S championship game on December 13 at Arute Field in New Britain, the Chargers again defeated Woodland, 51-12, for the program's 19<sup>th</sup> state title. Ansonia will enter the 2014 season with a 43-game winning streak.

Coach Brockett and the Ansonia team, along with members of the 2013 Walter Camp All-America team, will be honored at the organization's national awards banquet on Saturday, January 11, 2014 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven. In addition, the Foundation will recognize three individuals – former Notre Dame and Washington Redskins quarterback Joe Theismann (Distinguished American), former Penn State and Oakland Raider standout lineman Matt Millen (Man of the Year) and former North Carolina All-American Ken Huff (Alumnus of the Year) – with major awards. The Foundation is offering a "Holiday Ticket Promotion" for the National Awards Dinner. Buy two tickets for \$450 (you save \$150) before December 31. Please call (203) 288-CAMP (288-2267) for more information.

Also on January 11, Ansonia along with the three other state football champions – Southington (Class LL), New Canaan (Class L) and St. Joseph (Class M) – will be recognized at the Walter Camp Breakfast of Champions, which will be held at Anthony's Ocean View. That morning, the Walter Camp All-Connecticut Team, High School Player and Coach of the Year will also be announced.

Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

## Walter Camp "Joseph W. Kelly Award" Connecticut High School Champions

- 2013 Ansonia
- 2012 Daniel Hand (Madison)
- 2011 Xavier (Middletown)
- 2010 Xavier (Middletown)
- 2009 Notre Dame (West Haven)
- 2008 New Canaan
- 2007 Ansonia
- 2006 Ansonia
- 2005 Xavier (Middletown)
- 2004 Daniel Hand (Madison)
- 2003 New Britain
- 2002 West Haven
- 2001 New Britain
- 2000 Fitch (Groton)
- 1999 Bloomfield
- 1998 Bloomfield
- 1997 Daniel Hand (Madison)
- 1996 Weaver (Hartford)
- 1995 Cheshire
- 1994 Cheshire
- 1993 Cheshire
- 1992 Cheshire
- 1991 Notre Dame (West Haven)
- 1990 Derby
- 1989 Ansonia
- 1988 Stratford
- 1987 East Catholic (Manchester)
- 1986 Trumbull
- 1985 Hillhouse (New Haven)
- 1984 Middletown
- 1983 Ansonia
- 1982 St. Joseph's (Trumbull)
- 1981 Naugatuck
- 1980 Trumbull
- 1979 Newington
- 1978 Amity (Woodbridge)
- 1977 Trumbull
- 1976 Fitch (Groton)

###