wcfflogoblueouitline (1)

2016-17 Walter Camp Foundation Officers Selected

Congratulations to the follow individuals who were selected to lead the Walter Camp Football Foundation for the 2016-17 year.

Walter Camp Football Foundation officers

Robert Kauffman, a resident of North Haven, 28th President of the Foundation.
Michael Madera of West Haven, President-Elect
Mario Coppola of Orange, Vice President
Anthony Mortali  of Branford, Vice President
Donald Crouch, Jr. of Wallingford, Secretary

William Raffone of North Haven (Past President,2003-05), Treasurer

In addition, the following three members were named to the Foundation’s Board of Governors for a two-year term:

Liz Canning of Branford

Christopher Ficcocelli of North Haven

Dr. James Mendillo of Branford

Also serving on the Foundation’s Board of Governors:

John Barbarotta of Trumbull

William Barone of Hamden

Roger Sliby of Orange

Walter Camp Foundation Announces Recipients for Man of the Year and Alumni of the Year Awards

Two former collegiate and NFL standouts will receive major awards from the Walter Camp Foundation during its 49th Awards Weekend on January 14-16, 2016 in New Haven, Conn.  Former New England Patriot standout Joe Andruzzi (Southern Connecticut State University) is the Foundation’s “Man of the Year,” and 1977 Walter Camp All-American and NFL Super Bowl champion quarterback Doug Williams (Grambling State) is the Alumni Award recipient.

Read more

The Darien Wave defeated the Shelton Gaels, 39-7, to win the Class LL state football championship, Saturday, December 12, 2015, at New Britain Stadium at Willowbrook Park in New Britain. (Catherine Avalone/New Haven Register)

Walter Camp All-Connecticut Team Announced; 9th Annual Breakfast of Champions is January 16

As part of its 49th annual Weekend festivities, the Walter Camp Football Foundation will host its ninth High School “Breakfast of Champions” on Saturday, January 16 at The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale. The event starts at 9 a.m.  The Darien Blue Wave, the No. 1 team in the state’s high school football season-ending polls and recipient of the Foundation’s Kelly Award, will be recognized along with the three other state champions – New Canaan (Class L), Brookfield (Class M) and Bloomfield (Class S).  In addition, members of the 2015 Walter Camp All-Connecticut Team will be recognized.

Read more


2015 Walter Camp FCS All-America Team

Illinois State running back Marshaun Coprich (Illinois State) headlines Walter Camp’s 2015 Football Championship Subdivision All-America team. The team was selected by the head coaches and sports information directors of the Football Championship Subdivision schools and certified by the accounting and auditing firm, Marcum LLP.

Read more